ObjectNumberHEXAB3001Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey: The South Transept and Chancel from the South East
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
LabelTextHexham Abbey from SSE
HEXAB3001
Pen and ink drawing by Charles Clement Hodges 1886
ContentDescriptionPen and ink/pencil drawing shows Abbey from garden at north end of Beaumont Street with figures – a man and a girl wearing hats (of course). “This drawing has been made from a photograph taken before any of the recent alterations and mutilations of the building had been effected. The wall of the south transept shews the weather moulding of the dormitory roof, and the doorway leading to the night stairs. The garden in the foreground is now a street, in the making of which many early foundations were found.” Signed at an angle bottom r.h. corner: “Charles C. Hodges | 1886”.
PhysicalDescriptionCream card mount; plain black frame
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges | W H Knowles
ObjProdOrganisationGeo. Waterston & Sons. Photo Lith
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNoteUsed as Plate 1 in Hodges 1888 Monograph which has “Charles Clement Hodges direx. W.H. Knowles del. from a photograph by J.P. Gibson taken 1858.”
Dimensionsvis. picture 395 × 580 | frame 605 × 785
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3002 Click on
Thumbnail
for
6 photos
TitleHexham Abbey from SE
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
LabelTextHEXAB3002
Hexham Abbey from the south east with proposals for gardening
by F R Davidson, July 1946
Verso: Signatures of German Prisoners of War who worked on the project
Hexham Abbey from the south-east 1946
Painted by F R Davison in July 1946, the picture shows proposals for flower beds around the Abbey before these were then made by Prisoners of War.
In 1946 W T Taylor, Verger and Clerk, asked Jack McKeown, Gardening and Science Master at Hexham Secondary Modern School, to design a small garden layout to the east end of the Abbey. Jack McKeown asked Fred Davidson, a shipyard draughtsman, to produce this impression of his designs so the scheme could be approved.
1947. Work on laying out the Abbey Surrounds by Germans is well under way. Hex. Parish Mag. Nov. 1947, p.3.
Hello, I’m writing from Australia. I went to school in Hexham in the 40’s and seem to recall a group of German prisoners of was rebuilding part of the Abbey nearest Beaumont St. [A Letter received from Edith A Ward (née Dixon), 1 March 2003.]
Three of the POWs signed the reverse when the work was completed:—
Alfred Flamme, Oberst (Lt Colonel) POW No.560301 (senior officer)
Lt Karl H Koqurink (?) POW No.105564
Lt Erich Rensmeyer POW No.A845437 HEXAB3002
ContentDescriptionView of Abbey from SE with boy scout, cleric, a lady walking by, and a couple at market place corner; also a sightseer admiring E end, and a man walking west along the Abbey flags. All very tidy, especially the gardening. The view has ‘Railway Poster’ clarity of the time.
Important as a view of gardens around the Abbey designed by Mr W.T.Taylor, Verger, to be laid out by prisoners of war.
Verso: Signatures of German Prisoners of War who worked on the project [?obscured by current backing?] Copy of extract from Colin Dallison’s file on Hexham Abbey Floorscape — German P.O.W.s; and LabelText/2.
PhysicalDescriptionmounted; gilt framed; glazed
ObjProdPersonF R Davidson
ObjProdDateJuly 1946
ObjectHistoryNotepreviously Abbey office 1st floor west
Dimensionsvisible picture 545 × 400 | frame 825 × 594
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3003 Click on
Thumbnail
for
4 photos
TitleHexham Abbey from Market Place
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextHexham Abbey from Market Place
HEXAB3003
Watercolour painting by Paul Braddon
No date; the scene depicted must be pre-1860 because it shows the eastern chapels soon to be removed and the east front soon to be replaced by a ‘restoration’ in imitation of Whitby Abbey under the supervision of John Dobson, Architect.
The picture is not a brilliant work of art but it is a valuable record of the appearance of the Abbey at a time when great changes were about to be made.
BUT it is necessary to be careful: Paul Braddon (1864–1938) was too young to make such a picture unless he was copying another or recreating a scene (which he sometimes did).
ContentDescriptionNot sophisticated, but a clear view. Pant and W end of Shambles, and stalls with striped awning. Some of hoses have been removed exposing three northerly of five chapels (removed by Dobson in c1860). Old East Window still in place (also rebuilt by Dobson). Women selling vegetables from baskets. Houses at SW corner still in place therefore prior to making of Beaumont St. Thirteen figures.
Scene depicted is pre-1860. Now that we know more about Paul Braddon (who was born too late to have painted this c1860) it is clear that this must be an historic reconstruction painted by Braddon much later in the 19thC.
PhysicalDescriptiongold card mount; backing three boards in poor shape; gilt frame simple rococo mould Framing label torn in two – large part detached.
ObjProdPersonPaul Braddon
ObjProdOrganisationFramed by J. Glasstone, 55 New Bridge St, Newcastle upon Tyne, Telephone No.92
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 on S wall in Rector’s office.
“The Abbey has recently been given a painting, by Mr Tony Johnson of Scarborough in memory of his uncle Revd C.H.B. Barker, sometime Rector of Yarm-on-Tees, and grandson of The Revd Canon Henry Christopher Barker, Rector and Lecturer of Hexham Abbey 1862–1898.” [Abbey News & Views October 2007 Issue No 77 page 14 & November 2007 Issue No 78 page 13]
DimensionsPicture H 270 | W 380
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: cover & p.ii

ObjectNumberHEXAB3004 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleHexham Abbey from the west
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionView from Abbey grounds showing west side of North Transept, Tower and Nave; workman raking leaves between trees in foreground.
PhysicalDescriptionmounted, frame black-stained wood, glazed; verso: label ‘Geoff Cowell (t/a T.Ellis) | Picture Framing and | Artists Supplies’ and handwritten note on Old Gaol paper from Janet [Goodridge] to Graham [Usher].
ObjProdPersonFred J Girling
ObjProdOrganisationGeoff Cowell (t/a T.Ellis)
Dimensionsframe 383 × 417 | picture 208 × 174
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3005 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleHexham interior: N transept from Night Stairs
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextCelebrating Forty Years
A view of the interior of Hexham Abbey crossing, from the gallery in the South Transept, by Birtley Aris, 1992, during a special service to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of the accession to the throne of Her Majesty The Queen.
HEXAB3005
ContentDescriptionIncludes Pulpit, lion table, and organ loft. Written at bottom: “Sermon by Bishop of Newcastle | Service to celebrate the 40th. | Anniversary of accession of | Queen Elizabeth | 12 noon 15 March 92 | Birtley Aris 1992”
Handwritten label on reverse: “Hexham Abbey: Service to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the accession of Queen Elizabeth: 12 noon 15th March 1992 |BIRTLEY ARIS | Watercolour/Ink | 1992” Sermon by Bishop of Newcastle.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed Signed/dated/titled
ObjProdPersonBirtley Aris
ObjProdDate1992
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre Rector’s office.
DimensionsPicture H 575 | W 380 | Frame H 768 | W 565
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3006 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleThe North Proſpect of ye Conuentual Church of Hextildenham
ObjectNameengraving | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelText‘North Prospect of Ye Conventual Church of Hextildenham’
HEXAB3006
This view of Hexham Abbey Church was drawn by Stephen Anderton and engraved by Daniel King for William Dugdale’s Monasticon Anglicanum 1655. Frame 410 × 450mm
This is the earliest view of the Abbey in which architectural details can be seen.
Although much has been altered and the perspective is a bit awkward, there are many features which have not changed.
How many can you see?
ContentDescriptionHAGVSTALDENSIS ECCLESIÆ CONVENTVALIS FACIES AQVILONARIS. Drawn by Stephen Anderton, engraved by Daniel King, reproduced as part of Plate 7 in Hodges’ 1888 Monograph.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted in white card with inset inscription below, in a simple giltwood frame.
Inscription
Rare etching by Daniel King (fl. 1656–72)
The North Prospect of Hexham Abbey
from William Dugdale’s ‘Monasticon Anglicanum’, 1655.
 
A gift to Hexham Abbey
from the directors of Dean Gallery, Newcastle upon Tyne.
June, 1981.
ObjProdPersonStephen Anderton | Daniel King
ObjProdDate1655–1981
CurrentLocationNave/North Aisle/Case 1 (South)
ReferenceHAR: fn.3 p.49

ObjectNumberHEXAB3007Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey: crossing from north Transept
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionGibson (?) photograph. From N Transept looking S; bright light from W
PhysicalDescriptionoak framed; good wooden
ObjProdDatec1900?
DimensionsH 720 | W 620
CurrentLocNotehung on south wall
CurrentLocationParish Centre/First Floor/West

ObjectNumberHEXAB3009Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Market Place with Soldiers Shifting their Baggage
ObjectNameoil-painting | flat art
ContentDescriptionView with carts, people, soldiers (with distinct helmets – dragoons?)
“The grouping is good and the principal part of it thrown into a pleasing clearness of cheerful daylight. The effect of the opposite side of the street on the right hand in shadow is powerful. The spectator almost imagines he could turn the bright corner of the house near which the children are standing and walk along the street itself. The pigeon flying about add considerably to this breadth. That part of the street which is in bright sunlight is effective, but perhaps slightly too slatey. This however is no doubt done with a view of throwing out the figures and baggage waggons. The church is credibly painted.” [Tyne Mercury Oct 7th 1834]
PhysicalDescriptionFramed
ObjProdPersonattributed to Henry Perlee Parker
ObjProdDatec1834
ObjectHistoryNote(Offered for sale £21) [Tyne Mercury Oct 7th 1834]
The Queen’s Dragoon Guards were based in Cardiff, stationed in Newcastle, and travelled to Carlisle in 1834. In Cardiff Regimental Museum is another painting by Henry Perlee Parker of almost the same group of people but outside St Nicholas’s Cathedral in Newcastle, which was bought by Lord Lonsdale. [ex inf. Mrs Jean Scott, chairman of Friends of Laing Art Gallery]
NotesPreviously attributed to Luke Clennell
Henry Perlee Parker HRSA (1795–1873) a Devon man who lived in Newcastle 1815–1841. This picture probably dates from 1830s. It was not included in a major exhibition of his work at the Laing Art Gallery in 1969–70 but the catalogue for this exhibition might help to refine the date. [HD]
Dimensionsvis picture 790 × 610 | Frame W 1000 H 910
CurrentLocNotefixed to east wall
CurrentLocationParish Centre/First Floor/West

ObjectNumberHEXAB3010 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleHexham Abbey from Market Place
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
ContentDescriptionDecent rather clinical professional watercolour. Impersonal architectural figures. No traffic. Shows Gibson fountain/cross in Mkt Place. Building at end of Abbey flags extended
on piers over right-of way passage. No song school. Flat roofed Abbey shop in front of Chapter Ho. vestibule – chapel clock stands at 10.10 hrs. Signed Ronald Maddox.
Typed label on back: “HEXHAM ABBEY NORTHUMBERLAND | Water Colour Painting by RONALD MADDOX RI SGA FSIA | Commissioned by JOHN GLANFIELD January 1975”
PhysicalDescriptionPlain gilt frame with three corner joints unstuck. Repaired with masking tape which is damaging the gilding NEEDS REPAIR .
Grey mount in good condition
ObjProdPersonRonald Maddox
ObjProdDate1975
ObjectHistoryNote(PCC 4/3/1975) “A water colour of the Abbey commissioned and presented by Mr Glanfield was also shown to the P.C.C.”
DimensionsH 200 | W 270 | Frame approx. 400 × 370
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3014 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleThe Last Supper
ObjectNameprint | flat art
ContentDescription“SK” at bottom right. In black felt-tip on reverse: “To all at Hexham Abbey with much love & thanks from Julia Myles June 2013.”
PhysicalDescription‘Goya-esque’ block mounted print, one of set of 15 – 5 in Parish Office, 10 in vestry
ObjProdPersonSieger Köder
ObjProdOrganisationSt Paul MultiMedia Productions. Middle Green, Slough SL3 6BS
ObjProdDate1989–1999
ObjectHistoryNotepreviously Abbey office GF west
Dimensions990 × 539
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3019Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleLast Supper after Leonardo da Vinci
ObjectNameneedlework | flat art
ContentDescriptionGold coloured framed appliqué work by Mrs A W Wilkinson, her name stitched bottom right, depicting the Last Supper after Leonardo da Vinci with Latin names of saints below.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed; glazed. Brown paper backing
ObjProdPersonMrs A W Wilkinson
ObjProdDatelate 20th cent?
Dimensionspanel 1005 × 472 | frame 1045 × 515
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3020 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleLast Supper after Leonardo da Vinci
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionColour print good quality and better image now of the original has deteriorated badly during 20th century.
PhysicalDescriptioncolour print in elaborate Renaissance-style frame, some damage.
ObjProdOrganisationFramed by Mawson Son & Morgan, Grey Street, Newcastle 22nd. April 1912
ObjProdDatepre 1912
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre GF cupboard
“Presentation of Picture: Dr Routledge said he had been bequeathed a picture, which was a copy of The Last Supper by Leonardo da Vinci, and he believed it appropriate for display in the Abbey. It was agreed to accept the picture with thanks, and to decide later where it should be placed.” [PCC Min. 04/05/1971 p.57]
DimensionsPicture H 480 | W 795 | Frame H 572 | W 971
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3022 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleHexham Abbey: Restoration of East Front
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
LabelTextHexham Abbey Church restoration of east front
Mr Thomas Austin’s design
HEXAB3022
No date. 562 × 403mm
Thomas Austin was a Newcastle architect in partnership with R J Johnson and must have prepared this drawing when the two were in charge of repairs at the Abbey. The precise date of this drawing remains to be discovered.
ContentDescriptionMr Thomas Austin’s design for restoration of East Front of Hexham Abbey.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted; framed oak – faux bolection outer
ObjProdPersonThomas Austin (1822–24/3/1867)
ObjProdDatec1860
ObjectHistoryNote“The thanks of the meeting were accorded to Mr J Gibson for having had mounted and framed a drawing (by [T] Austin, Architect) of the East End (Exterior) of the Choir of the Abbey.” [Churchwardens’ Minutes 04/07/1921]
DimensionsH 562 | W 403
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3024Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey interior High Altar & E. Wall from Organ Loft S.E.
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionCut from magazine with title
PhysicalDescriptionOak frame
ObjProdPersonWalter Scott
ObjProdDate20th cent
DimensionsH 263 | W 189
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3025Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleA Cleric
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionChalk/charcoal drawing of unidentified Cleric
Interior needs proper cleaning which might reveal sitter’s or artist’s identity and other information
PhysicalDescriptionOak frame; Gilt slip; Spacer beneath glass
ObjProdDatemid 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteExterior cleaned by H.D. prior to Abbey Fair 2013/2014
DimensionsH 495 | W 422
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3026 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1426
TitleTyrrell Window impression of window in situ
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPhoto-shopped view/photo of Window installed October 2012
PhysicalDescriptionmounted, frame light wood; verso: artist’s name.
ObjProdPersonAlan Davis
ObjProdDatec2010–2012
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre Rector’s office.
Dimensionspicture H 257 W 186 | mount H 555 W 446
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3027 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1426
TitleHexham Abbey: South Transept Tyrrell Window Design
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionThe three lights of the Tyrrell window, spaced as when installed in south transept. Label verso: ‘The Tyrrell Window, Hexham Abbey | Drawing by Alan Davis BA. FMGP. | Scale 1:10’
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed, glazed
ObjProdPersonAlan Davis
ObjProdDatec2010–2012
Dimensions884 × 724 overall
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3028Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6502
TitleFrith Stool Hexham in 1884
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextFrith Stool Hexham Abbey
HEXAB3028
A record drawing by Charles Clement Hodges of 1884 during the early years after he came to Hexham and started working at the Abbey
Pen and ink 304 × 212mm
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing; signed ‘Charles C. Hodges’.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed plain black by T. Wood & Sons Fine Art Gallery, Darlington
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1884
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 216 | W 286 | frame H 300 | W 379
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3029Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMercers’ door
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextMercers’ (Old North) Door. Removed 1869
HEXAB3029.
Moulded oak frame, gilt fillet beneath glass 404 × 300.This drawing is a reconstruction by Charles Hodges who relied on early images, discarded fragments of the doorway, and the memory of parishioners.
ContentDescription‘Hexham Abbey | The Old North Door | erected by the Mercers’ Company | removed 1869.’
‘Drawn from the remains | by Charles C Hodges’
A simpler version on p.13 of his 1888 monograph has “… Drawn from the Fragments Re- | maining and Photographs …”
PhysicalDescriptionMounted; Frame moulded wood gilt fillet; Spacer gilt beneath glass
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatec1900
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 330 | W 220 | Frame H 403 | W 300
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: fn.8 p.49, Fig.34 p.50

ObjectNumberHEXAB3030Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleThe Rev Canon E.S. Savage. M.A. Rector and Lecturer. 1898–1919.
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextThe Revd Canon E S Savage MA Rector and Lecturer 1898–1919
HEXAB3030
Photo of painting. Stepped glitter-gilt frame 304 × 212mm.
Canon Savage was the Rector when the choir and chancel were re-ordered and the nave rebuilt. Though still Rector he served overseas during the Great War, and later became Rector of St Bartholomew’s in London, the great Romanesque church much used for mediæval interiors for films from Beckett to Wolf Hall.
The Revd Canon E S Savage MA Rector and Lecturer 1898–1919
Canon Savage was the driving force at the Abbey when the choir and chancel were re-ordered and the nave rebuilt. Though Rector throughout the Great War, he was frequently abroad serving with the YMCA in France and later on behalf of the Serbian Red Cross. His final, hurried departure from Hexham just after the Armistice was to take up an appointment as British Representative on a Serbian Government war reparations commission. He later became Rector of St Bartholomew’s in London.
Photograph of unlocated painting. HEXAB3030
ContentDescriptionPhoto of a painted portrait of ESS in gloomy ecclesiastical interior holding Bible and academic hat. Decorations plus. Characterful.
PhysicalDescriptionframed gilt poor – scraped. Mounted and framed after 1919, presumably could be 1920s frame 1960?
ObjProdDateearly 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre Rector’s office E wall.
PCC Min. 1/12/1970 p.30: “The Rector said that Mrs Beckingham had written to him, offering a portrait of her father [Canon Savage], to be displayed in the Abbey, as her sister was moving house. The portrait, which was framed, was 5' 6" high and 3' 8" wide. – The Chairman said he would wait a day or two for suggestions, otherwise he would write to Mrs Beckingham offering to store it for her.”
PCC Min. 5/1/1971: “Portrait – Canon Savage – The Rector reported that a nephew of Mrs Beckingham had expressed his wish to have the portrait.”
Dimensionspicture H 198 | W 120 | frame H 304 | W 211
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3031Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHartlepool – in Newcastle
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionSigned Charles C Hodges 1890. Scale: full size. ‘Carpet page’ design with Cross in rectangle mark
PhysicalDescriptionCard backing. Not framed, damaged badly at LH side.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1890
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre Rector’s office.
2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 264 | W 206 | Card H 360 | W 284
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3032Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleJarrow. West end of S side of the Chancel
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionSigned: C.C.H. delt. 1893
Verso: 3A to in Nest
935 opening
(phone message?)
PhysicalDescriptionMount dirty unprotected should be filed. Not framed
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1893
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 217 | W 157 | mount H 310 | W 247
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3033Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB3050
TitleChapter House Vestibule Ruin
ObjectNameoil-painting | flat art
Materialcanvas
LabelTextHexham Abbey chapter house lobby ruins looking towards Market Place
HEXAB3033
Oil painting on stretcher, unframed. Ns nd. But ‘Heather Bell’ in pencil on stretcher. Canvas loose, very dirty 458 × 247.
A record of the ruin before its restoration first as a chapel and later as the Abbey Shop.
What the Abbey Shop looked like about 1950!
A view from the Chapter House ruins toward the Market Place with the Moot Hall in the distance. The view is now from the Abbey Shop. The Chapter House lobby was restored in the 1950s and used for a while as a chapel [St Cuthbert’s].
Oil painting on stretcher, unframed. Neither signed nor dated the picture was probably painted by ‘Heather Bell’ whose name is in pencil on the stretcher. HEXAB3033.
ContentDescriptionView from SW through doorway toward Market Place and Moot Hall distant.
Piles of stone – Removed from works in Beaumont St & St Mary’s Chare [MRG]
See HEXAB3050
PhysicalDescriptionOn stretcher 2 pegs missing. Not framed. Dirty, damaged Needs frame. Verso: name of artist? donor?
ObjProdPersonHeather Bell
ObjProdDateearly 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre
2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
c1980s displayed on N wall in the Abbey Museum in the N Chancel aisle
DimensionsH 455 | W 611
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3034Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleFour drawings of Saxon fragments framed together
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextFour antiquarian drawings by Charles Clement Hodges
HEXAB3034
Framed together, gummed to backboard, plain dark frame 605 × 698:—
3034.1 Corbridge: three views of a capital fragment taken out of tower 1908. Half real size. CCH mens. et delt
3034.2 Birtley on Tyne: cross stone found and drawn at real size 1884. O, R, P and E around cross
3034.3 Whittingham tower arch bead decoration. Sketch and elevation not dated
3034.4 Simondburn [sic] in the porch: three carved fragments; one impost stone and two apparently loose pieces. Scale shows they barely reach a foot in any direction. Signed and dated 1904
ContentDescriptionVerso ‘Fireplace Bolton’
PhysicalDescriptionFrame dark brown stain; back paper torn glazed very dirty
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1884–1908
ObjectHistoryNote“Five framed Hodges prints dated about 1890 have been left to the Abbey by Emily Hope. The P.C.C. will gratefully acknowledge all these gifts.” [Abbey Chronicle, June 1982, p.3]
2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsFrame H 603 | W 698
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3034.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleCorbridge [stone] taken out of tower in 1908
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPencil and pen & ink drawing; “mens et del” yet no scale but “half real size”
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other three drawings
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1908
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 240 | W 343
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3034.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBirtley, N.Tyne Cross on stone found in 1884
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionStone engraved with cross and four letters: O R P E; scale 1:1 ‘real size’
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other three drawings
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1884
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 280 | W 214
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3034.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleWhittingham Tower arch
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionElevation, section, sketch
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other three drawings
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 265 | W 346
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3034.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSimondburn in the porch
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionThree stones. String with wavy pattern; string criss-cross pattern; heraldic device; + scale
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other three drawings
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1904
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 212 | W 251
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3035 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleJohn Knox administering the first Protestant Sacrament
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionEngraved print after history painting. Epic composition with over fifty figures with Mary, Queen of Scots, attended by her “four Maries”, poised to taste the wine, while J.K, on raised dais makes a suitably dramatic gesture. Surrounding figures offer a range of feelings — determination, resolution, despair, boredom. Much detailed still life of vessel, textiles, furniture, weapons.
[from The Spectator, 27/03/1841]:– The picture represents Knox in the act of addressing the Protestant congregation in the crypt-like chapel of St Andrew’s Castle, to whom the elders are distributing the sacred elements at several tables, according to the Scottish usage: behind him stands his colleague, John Rough, chaplain to the garrison; and among the communicants are the stern Lord Ruthven, the good Earl of Glencairn, fierce Sir James Balfour, the poet Sir David Lindsay of the Mount, Norman Leslie, (one of the assassins of Cardinal Beatoun), the sensitive and aspiring young Earl of Arran, the venerable Sir James Sandilands, and others of less note, with some female relatives. Such an assemblage of remarkable personages, clad in armour or in the sumptuous costumes of peace, and engaged in the celebration of a solemn ordinance administered by the great Scottish Reformer under circumstances calculated to render the sacred rite more than ordinarily impressive, ought to excite deep and lively interest.
Caption below engraving (as illustrated by copy in Library of Congress):
[left, small caps] Painted By William Bonnar esq. Royal Scottish Academician.
[right, small caps] Engraved by H T Ryall, Engraver in Ordinary to her Majesty Queen Victoria. May 1, 1849.
JOHN KNOX ADMINISTERING THE FIRST SCOTTISH SACRAMENT,
During the Siege of the Castle of St Andrews, 1547.
“His labours were so successful during the time that he preached at St Andrews, that besides the garrison in the castle, a great number of the inhabitants of the town renounced Popery,
and made profession of the Protestant faith, by participating of the Lord’s Supper – This was the first time that the Sacrament of the Lord’s was dispensed according to the reformed faith in Scotland.”
[v small caps] London: Published May 1, 1848, by Henry Graves & Compy. Printsellers in Ordinary to Her Majesty, & HRH Prince Albert. 6, Pall Mall.
PhysicalDescriptionElaborate faux “Jacobean” armorial carved and stucco brown frame (damaged with loose pieces) Originally glazed (glass gone) but gilt fillet intact. Paper has some foxing, scratches, but generally stable. Paper mount has been stuck to front of print and crudely titled with letters outlined in pencil. This obscures any info. about artist or engraver.
ObjProdPersonPainted By William Bonnar RSA | Engraved by H.T. Ryall
ObjProdOrganisationHenry Graves & Compy
ObjProdDate1840s
ObjectHistoryNote[from The Spectator, 27/03/1841]:– MESSRS. HODGSON and GRAVES are exhibiting a picture of John Knox Administering the first Protestant Sacrament in Scotland; painted by Mr WILLIAM BONNAR, R.S.A., for the purpose of being engraved. … Mr RYALL, who is to engrave the plate, will have his execution in the “mixed style” of stipple, chalk, and line, put against one of the chefs-d’œuvre of line-engraving.
DimensionsH 680 | W 860
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3036Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleThe Abbey of S. Andrew Hexham. Ground plan of the church and Chapter House
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextHexham Abbey ground plan of the church and chapter house
HEXAB3036
Surveyed and drawn by Charles Clement Hodges no date.
Photolithograph by Geo Waterston and Sons 518 × 670mm
ContentDescriptionPhotolithograph by ‘Geo. Waterston & Sons. Photo Lith’; includes John Carter’s plan of 1780. Signed “Surveyed and drawn by Charles C. Hodges.”; n.d.; scale; key to periods. Used as Plate 8 in 1888 monograph:
“The church is shewn complete as far possible. As the mediæval nave was probably never finished, no attempt at a conjectural restoration has been made; all that is shewn on the plan either exists, or did exist, within recent years. The plan was lithographed, and all the copies printed, before the author became aware of the existence of John Carter’s drawings; consequently it was only possible to add a small facsimile of his plan as a supplement. It will be seen that the mediæval arrangements of the choir had been allowed to continue till comparatively recent times. They were first disturbed in 1830, and finally effaced in 1858. The church is generally shewn as it was before 1858. This remark applies to all the drawings.”
PhysicalDescriptionframed moulded with gilt inner edge. No spacer beneath glass
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdOrganisationGeo. Waterston & Sons. Photo Lith
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 433 | W 584 | Frame H 519 | W 670
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3037 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleFive drawings in single frame
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionFive pen-and-ink drawings in single frame; no date
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote“Five framed Hodges prints dated about 1890 have been left to the Abbey by Emily Hope. The P.C.C. will gratefully acknowledge all these gifts.” [Abbey Chronicle, June 1982, p.3]
2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 688 | W 882
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3037.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleNorham
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen-and-ink drawing; half real size, signed
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3037.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHart
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen-and-ink drawing; half real size, signed
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3037.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChester-le-Street
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen-and-ink drawing, half real size, signed
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3037.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBamburgh
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen-and-ink drawing, half real size, signed
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3037.5Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSimondburn
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen-and-ink drawing, half real size, signed
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3038Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleTwo perspective views of Hexham Abbey
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
LabelTextTwo perspective drawings of Hexham Abbey
HEXAB3038
Pen and ink ‘by the late R J Johnson who restored the transepts’ presented to Abbey by C C Hodges in 1905. Framed together with double-window mount, oak frame, fillet outside glass, 535 × 1170:—
HEXAB3038.1 Abbey from the SW
HEXAB3038.2 Abbey from NNE
Robert James Johnson (1832–1892) was an architect and antiquarian. Born near Darlington, he was apprenticed there to John Middleton before moving to Newcastle. He completed his studies in the office of George Gilbert Scott (one of the powerhouses of the Gothic Revival) in London but moved back to Newcastle and went into partnership with Thomas Austin.
They took over the practice of John Dobson when he retired, and this may be the reason why both Johnson and Austin became involved at Hexham Abbey. They may have been associated with C C Hodges, the resident architect-antiquarian. A good draughtsman, and a keen student of Gothic architecture, Johnson brought a new, scholarly approach to the restoration work. It was only after Johnson’s death that the Abbey called in another of Scott’s pupils, the great Gothic-Revival architect, Temple Moore, to direct restorations and design the new nave.
ContentDescription2 pen & ink drawings framed together. Frame inscribed at bottom: “These original drawings by the late Mr R.J. Johnson, Architect, who restored the transepts, are presented to Hexham Abbey Church by Mr C C Hodges. 1905”. The left-hand image is a view from the south-west before the vestry annex was built in 1870.
PhysicalDescriptionMount – two windows. Oak frame; fillet outside glass
ObjProdPersonR.J. Johnson
ObjProdDate1860s?
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 535 | W 1170
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3038.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey from SW 17 Aug 1858
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionSouth Transept with crack above doorway, Tower with western buttresses, lower part of south wall of Nave with carrel.
PhysicalDescriptionPen & ink drawing by R J Johnson
ObjProdPersonR J Johnson
ObjProdDate17 Aug 1858
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
Dimensions465 × 303
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3038.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey from NNE 18 Aug 1858
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionEastern chapels have been removed
PhysicalDescriptionPen & ink drawing by R.J. Johnson
ObjProdPersonR.J. Johnson
ObjProdDate18 Aug 1858
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
Dimensions445 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3039 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleFour drawings in single frame
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionFour pen & ink drawings in single frame; signed C C Hodges
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1896–1900
ObjectHistoryNote“Five framed Hodges prints dated about 1890 have been left to the Abbey by Emily Hope. The P.C.C. will gratefully acknowledge all these gifts.” [Abbey Chronicle, June 1982, p.3]
2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 695 | W 630
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3039.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSketch Plan and Section of Crypt Ripon Cathedral
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing by C C Hodges. Scale ½ in. to 1 ft. “shewing (in red) stones recently unearthed”.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1900
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3039.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBywell St Andrew
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing by C C Hodges – carved stone set into wall of tower; scale of ins.; signed Charles C. Hodges 1889
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1889
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3039.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHurworth now in Durham
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing by C C Hodges
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1899
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3039.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitlePonteland
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing by C C Hodges – Two drawings of carved stone(s?) “half real size” but no scale. Signed Charles C. Hodges.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1896
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3040 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleFive drawings in one frame
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionFive pen & ink drawings by C C Hodges in one frame
PhysicalDescriptionframed
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote“Five framed Hodges prints dated about 1890 have been left to the Abbey by Emily Hope. The P.C.C. will gratefully acknowledge all these gifts.” [Abbey Chronicle, June 1982, p.3]
2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 688 | W 882
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3040.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleNorham
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing signed by C C Hodges, half real size
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3040.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleNorham
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing by C C Hodges
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3040.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleNorham
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing by C C Hodges
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3040.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleNorham
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing by C C Hodges
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3040.5Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBolam, Northumberland
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionPen & ink drawing by C C Hodges
PhysicalDescriptionframed together with other four
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent – early 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3041Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey: Section of the Choir and Elevation of East Side of Transepts
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
LabelTextHexham Abbey: Section through Choir, East side of Transepts
HEXAB3041
Mounted on strainer but unframed and unglazed. No signature [Charles Clement Hodges] n.d. [late 19thC.] 878 × 1384mm.
Hodges made detailed drawings of Hexham Abbey which are some of the best records of mediæval architecture of their time.
ContentDescriptionNo signature, no date. Used as Plate 11 in Hodges 1888 Monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on strainer but unframed and unglazed; evidence of mirror-plate fixing
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 878 | W 1384
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3042 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleHexham Abbey: Upper part of the West Side of the Rood Screen
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
LabelTextHexham Abbey: Upper part of Smithson screen (c1500)
HEXAB3042
A record drawing by Charles Clement Hodges
No signature; no date; late 19th Century. 1384 × 828mm
ContentDescriptionPen & ink. Twelve of the thirteen pateræ are illustrated up the left-hand side; note that the “Q” (for “Qui”) is here drawn the right way up, whereas on the screen itself it is upside-down.
The inscription: “Orate Pro Anima Domini Thomæ Smithson Prioris Hujus Ecclesiæ Qui Fecit Hoc Opus”. The [ninth] patera carrying the word “Ecclesiæ” is modern and unlike the rest in character [so not drawn here by Hodges, but only much smaller on Plate 43]; it was missing when screen drawn by Carter 1795.
Used as Plate 45 in Hodges 1888 Monograph
PhysicalDescriptionframed and glazed; label: framed by Morrison Swan & Morgan 17/05/1917
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 1384 | W 828
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleRoman and Saxon Sculpture
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
LabelTextEight drawings of Roman and Saxon sculpture by C C Hodges
HEXAB3043
Drawings lettered B to K (there is no A) with dates of findings; mounted on back board: 545 × 972mm. No frame.
Hodges studied Roman and early Christian remains to give himself a better understanding of features at Hexham Abbey
ContentDescriptionEight pen & ink drawings of Roman and Saxon sculpture, lettered ‘B’ to ‘K’ (no ‘A’ or ‘J’) with dimensions and some dates of findings. All used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph which also has ‘A’ – Flavinus:
“A, The Flavinus slab is described on page 4. B, The carved stone in the floor of the triforium in the south transept, shewn in position on Plate 28; C, F, G, and K are mentioned on pages 20 and 21; E, H, and the ‘hog-backed’ stone on page 50.”
PhysicalDescriptionUnframed board
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 545 | W 972
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6276
TitleB: Probably Roman, in the Triforium of South Transept
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionRosette stone. See plates 28 & 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote“B. The carved stone in the floor of the triforium in the south transept, shewn in position on Plate 28;” [Hodges 1888 Pl.42]
2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 136 | W 173
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHodges 1888 Pl.28 & 42

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6114
TitleC: Saxon, in the garden Hexham House
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionSee HEXAB6114 – Architectural panel decorated with vine scrolls with lower half of human figure & cockerel; used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 156 | W 210
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6118
TitleD: In the North Transept
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionSee HEXAB6118 – Part of cross head – prominent central boss; used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 276 | W max 175 (side torn)
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleE: Found in 1864 in the garden “Abbey Gate” House
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionSaxon – Impost with carving on side and end; used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 255 | W 218
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.5Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6116
TitleF: In the North Transept
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionOne of two items drawn on one piece of paper.
Saxon entwined scroll double cable moulding with end of same; see HEXAB6116; used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 218 | W 304
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.6Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6255
TitleG: In the North Transept
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionOne of two items drawn on one piece of paper; used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 218 | W 304
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.7Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6278
TitleH: Saxon, found in 1876 in the ruins of the Common House
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionSaxon Cross-shaft and part of cross-head; front and side with interlace and animal head; used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 263 | W 147
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.8Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6109
TitleI: Hog-back stone found in 1831 in the North Transept
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionSee HEXAB6109 – Hog back grave cover; used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 162 | W 348
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3043.9Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB6275
TitleK: Probably Saxon, built into the wall now blocking nave aisle arch
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionHuman display figure; moved when nave rebuilding started in 1907; used in Plate 42 of 1888 monograph
PhysicalDescriptionmounted on board with others
ObjProdDatepre 1888
DimensionsH 183 | W 132
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3044Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB133
TitleThe Rood Screen, Elevation of the western side
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
LabelTextHexham Abbey: The Rood Screen, elevation of west side
HEXAB3044
No signature [Charles Clement Hodges] n.d. [late 19thC.]
Mounted on strainer 807 × 1350; not framed
ContentDescriptionPlate 43 in 1888 monograph; includes scale of feet: “The screen is shewn exactly as it exists, except that the row of panels now fixed above the gallery front, which do not belong to it, have been omitted. The upper cove and cornice are not restored, as there is little authority left for them.”
PhysicalDescriptionNot framed. Mounted on strainer. Drawing pins on verso.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 807 | W 1350
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3045Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey: West elevation
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
LabelTextHexham Abbey: West elevation
HEXAB3045
No signature [Charles Clement Hodges] n.d. [late 19thC.] framed not glazed
880 × 1350. There is a hole in the picture; this is an example of the sort of cleaning and conservation work needed on items in the Abbey’s collection.
ContentDescriptionPlate 10 in 1888 monograph. “The great arch shewn blocked up is now opened out. The closing wall had a window and doorway in it in the last century. It was probably never a blank wall as here shewn (Plate 6).”
PhysicalDescriptionframed not glazed
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNote“Five framed Hodges prints dated about 1890 have been left to the Abbey by Emily Hope. The P.C.C. will gratefully acknowledge all these gifts.” [Abbey Chronicle, June 1982, p.3]
2005: in the Treasury 13th April.
DimensionsH 880 | W 1350
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3046Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleView of Abbey from Hexham House
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPre-nave – with vestry projecting west of tower – summer? Clock on tower. Before re-building of Nave.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed – ornamental carved wood frame with slip frame/gilt fillet beneath glass. Recently re-backed with masking tape
ObjProdPerson? Gibson
ObjProdDate1870–1907
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre Rector’s office.
DimensionsH 560 | W 660 | visible photo. H 320 | W 435
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3047Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMonastery of Lindisfarne
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextLindisfarne, Benedictine Monastery ‘as it may have appeared in 15th century’
HEXAB3047
A bird’s eye view from south, with inset ground plan, top left; and lozenge with SS Peter, Aidan, Cuthbert and Oswald at foot. R Neville Hadcock del. Emery Walker pho. [photolithograph?] Framed [555 × 443]
This view of a sister monastery, partly based on archæology and partly on imagination, gives some idea of the complexity of outbuildings which must also have existed at Hexham.
ContentDescriptionBird’s eye view from the south – inset a ground plan + pectoral cross of St Cuthbert
PhysicalDescriptionPrint of drawing, signed in pencil.
Framed. Plain black chipped frame
ObjProdPersonR. Neville Hadcock [signed in pencil]
ObjProdOrganisationEmery Walker print of a drawing
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre Rector’s office.
DimensionsH 555 | W 443
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3048Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Priory Church, Northumberland
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextHexham Priory Church view of chancel from north choir stalls
HEXAB3048
Pen and ink by Reg Saxby October 1931
There is much to learn from dated views like this about the conduct of services and where furnishings were placed.
How many changes can you see?
ContentDescriptionPen & ink; Transitional architecture; signed “Reg. Saxby Oct 1931”
PhysicalDescriptionPlain black square frame with interval black cross bands; framed by Geoff Cowell, Hexham
ObjProdPersonReg. Saxby
ObjProdOrganisationGeoff Cowell
ObjProdDateOct 1931
Dimensionsvisible picture H 525 | W 380 | frame H 725 | W 575
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3049Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB9019.10
TitleClerical Assembly
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionClergy and others in the cloister, in front of the South Transept. Archbishop of York, Archbishop of Melbourne, 16 Bishops and their chaplains.
Along west wall of South transept. Celebration of new nave – 8th August 1908. Hawick Banner included. [Very like lantern-slide HEXAB9019.10]
PhysicalDescriptionFramed – oak hollowed and moulded glazed. Gold fillet under glass.
part label ‘HEWITT’ torn below.
ObjProdDate1908
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre
DimensionsPhoto. H 282 | W 365 | Frame H 510 | W 610
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3050 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
AssocObjNumberHEXAB3033
TitleHexham Abbey from North West
ObjectNameoil-painting | flat art
Materialcanvas
ContentDescriptionMuch rubble in foreground – building development wall and steps. Late Impressionism.
See HEXAB3033
PhysicalDescriptionFramed not glazed
Handwritten note attached to rear:
To my successor as Rector of Hexham:— This picture was given to me by the mother of the artist [Miss Heather Bell, who is now dead]. It was given to me personally – as witness my name on the back – as a memento of our 1300 Anniversary Year in 1974. When, however, the mother heard that I was leaving, the mother said she did not think Heather would want it to leave Hexham. Accordingly I said that I would keep it in the Rectory, and leave it behind when I went. If you are able to accept it on those terms, well and good. Otherwise I suppose it could go down to the Abbey and be hung in the Vestry. But it seemed to me that in the first instance I ought to leave it for you to hang in the Rectory if you wanted it.
Mrs Bell lives in Haydon Bridge.
[signed] R. Lemmon, 24 January 1975.
Inscribed card affixed to rear:
“Presented to | Canon Lemmon | as a memento of the visit to Hexham | by | Her Majesty The Queen | on July 1st 1974 | In celebration of the Abbey’s 1300th anniversary”
ObjProdPersonMiss Heather Bell
ObjProdDate1974
ObjectHistoryNotePresented by Mrs Bell of Haydon Bridge, mother of the artist, to Canon Lemmon as a memento of the visit to Hexham, by the Queen July 1st 1974 in celebration of Abbey’s 1300 anniversary. R. Lemmon passed it on to his successor in 1975. Jan. 24th.
pre-2015 in Parish Centre
DimensionsH 530 | W 740
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3051 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
AssocObjNumberHEXAB103
TitleFont Canopy Design
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextHexham Abbey, Restoration of the Ancient Tabernacle Font Cover
HEXAB3051
pen-and-ink and watercolour drawing, fully rendered, by Charles C Hodges Architect, Newcastle upon Tyne 29th September 1915. ‘The old canopy which had been broken up, but had fortunately escaped destruction, was put together, restored and completed from designs by C C Hodges in 1916 and erected on new steps to give it sufficient elevation. Advantage was taken of the presence of a Flemish carver named Ceulemans, who was a refugee residing in the town, and the carving was done by him, the construction being done by Hexham craftsmen’ from Hodges and Gibson, Hexham and Its Abbey, 1919, p63
Scale 1 inch – 1 foot. Framed [560 × 370]
Font Canopy or Tabernacle Reconstruction Design 1916
Charles Clement Hodges, the Abbey’s local antiquarian and resident architect, wrote in 1907 just as work on the rebuilding of the nave was started: ‘The Font should be removed and refixed in the Nave, close to the Western Doorway, and obviously the ancient Font Cover, of which we have many fragments, should be restored, and properly fitted over it. I estimate the cost of this item at £150.’
Hodges made this design, fully rendered with watercolours, in 1916. Mr Herdman supervised the removal and rebuilding of the font. Mr Hedley demonstrated his rare craftsmanship on the project, and by luck a Belgian refugee, Joseph Ceulmans, who was a skilled joiner, volunteered to help carve the missing parts. In giving the height of the canopy as 20ft 6inches (and total height from the floor close upon 30 feet), Charles Hodges noted it would be the tallest in England – ‘That at Uffard, Suffolk, the tallest extant being 18 feet 9 inches.’ The work was complete by May 1916. It was almost the last element of the great transformation of the church brought about by Canon Savage and his architects, Temple Moore and Charles Hodges over a period of almost twenty years.
By the summer of 1918 the stained glazing of the great West Window by Mr H T Bosdet (who had also decorated the East Windows) cast ‘a mellow glow of rich colour over the beautiful lines of the new building.’ The window was dedicated on 3rd November just eight days before the Armistice and barely a month before Canon Savage departed from Hexham.
ContentDescriptionWatercolour fully rendered. Restoration of the Ancient Tabernacle Font cover. Includes view of whole font and steps. Design and dimensions differ considerably from actual font canopy [HEXAB103]
PhysicalDescriptiongilt frame 1920s
scale 1" = 1'
Pen & ink fully rendered.
Inscription
HEXHAM ABBEY CHURCH
RESTORATION OF THE ANCIENT
TABERNACLE FONT COVER
SCALE 1 INCH TO 1 FOOT
Charles C. Hodges
Architect
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
September 29th. 1915.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate29th Sep 1915
ObjectHistoryNote1980, April: Mrs Awdrey Beckingham (1901–1992) third daughter of Canon Savage, kindly donated. Label on back: ‘This picture is the Property of E.B. Savage Dec 192?’ [obscured – E.B. = Elfleda Bride (1906–1984) the fourth daughter of Canon Savage].
2007, Nov: The framed drawing is hanging in the Treasurer’s room in the Parish Centre.
pre-2015 in Parish Centre Rector’s office: “In the Parish Centre is a framed coloured drawing (photo enclosed) of the proposed restoration signed by Hodges, dated September 29th 1915, scale 1 inch to 1 foot. This shows at the left-hand side an X [actually 2 arrow-heads] at the top of the stone font and below it the distance from floor to font top 4 ft 7 ins. Another X [actually an arrow-head] is level with the top of the dove finial, with 13 ft shown between the font top and the dove top (these details do not come out in the photo). This would give an overall height of 17 ft 7 ins. The height of the whole picture visible in the glass: 520 mm.” [CND, 24 May 2006.]
DimensionsH 560 [visible 520] | W 370
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: fn.21 p.52
1980: “Mrs Beckingham’s offer of the drawing … The Rector and Mrs Corbett had collected the drawing; it is now in the Vestry. A letter from her has asked for her name to be removed from the church electoral roll because the P.C.C. has turned down the idea of Choral Mattins according to Prayer Book once a month, the 11.15 congregation are not allowed Prayer Book Service, and the Prayer Book and King James Bible are no longer used at one regular Sunday Service.” [PCC Min. 20/05/1980 p.51 3.3]
“Mrs Audrey Buckingham [sic] has very kindly donated to the Abbey Mr Hodge’s drawing of the 1915 Restoration of the Ancient Tabernacle Font Cover. The P.C.C. were very grateful for this gift and asked the Rector and Joan Corbett to call and collect it so that it can be displayed in the Abbey.” [Abbey Chronicle Jun.1980 p.7, P.C.C. News. – Mrs Awdrey Victoria Beckingham, 1901–1992, was the third daughter of Canon Savage.]

ObjectNumberHEXAB3052Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBlue Flowers
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionsigned Shirley Neil 38/150
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed, glazed
ObjProdPersonShirley Neil
ObjProdDate1990s
DimensionsH 570 | W 605 | visible picture H 410 | W 450
CurrentLocNotehung on east wall
CurrentLocationParish Centre/First Floor/East

ObjectNumberHEXAB3053Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleNewcastle United Visit the Tyne Brewery
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionCaption below photograph:
Football Association Cup-Winners Season 1950–1951
Newcastle United Visit the Tyne Brewery, Friday, 11th May, 1951
Standing: E. Hall (secretary), Stan Seymour (Director), Harvey (Captain), Norman Smith (Trainer), Walker
Seated: Crowe, Brennan, Cowell, Milburn, Taylor, Robledo
Inset: Mitchell, Fairbrother, Corbett
PhysicalDescriptionBroken glass; wooden frame with dark varnish worn off in places; signs of water damage.
ObjProdDate1951
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3054Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleNewcastle United at Wembley
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionCaption below photograph:
Football Association Cup-Winners 1950–51 and 1951–52
Newcastle United at Wembley, Saturday, 3rd May, 1952
Left to Right: McMichael, Simpson, Foulkes, Milburn, Brennan, Harvey (Capt.)
Robledo (G.), Mitchell, Cowell. Inset: Walker, Robledo (E.)
PhysicalDescriptionFramed photograph with printed caption.
ObjProdDate1952
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3055Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB2012
TitleLowgate Church Exterior
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionNo identification
Exterior from NE
Gable shows bell HEXAB2012 now in Abbey
PhysicalDescriptionFramed
ObjProdDatemid–late 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre
DimensionsH 425 | W 510
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3056Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleLowgate Church Interior
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionNo identification
Interior looking East.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed
ObjProdDatemid–late 20th cent
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre
DimensionsH 425 | W 510
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3057Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleService in Chapter House Vestibule Ruins
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionTwo photos (on one sheet?) showing (.1) congregation in cloister with Rector & Verger walking eastward, and Wilfrid banner; (.2) westward procession of choir led by Coptic Cross approaching cloister through archway of ruined chapter-house vestibule (now the Abbey Shop)
PhysicalDescriptionFramed, glazed, glass cracked
ObjProdDateearly 1950s
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3057.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleService in Chapter House Vestibule Ruins
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionCongregation in cloister with Rector & Verger walking eastward, and Wilfrid banner
PhysicalDescriptionFramed, glazed, glass cracked
ObjProdDateearly 1950s
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3057.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleService in Chapter House Vestibule Ruins
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionWestward procession of choir led by Coptic Cross approaching cloister through archway of ruined chapter-house vestibule (now the Abbey Shop)
PhysicalDescriptionFramed, glazed, glass cracked
ObjProdDateearly 1950s
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3058Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1037
TitleHatchment of Isaac Sparke d.1816
ObjectNamehatchment | flat art
ContentDescriptionIsaac Sparke esq. (d.1816 aged 23), of St John’s college, Cambridge and Summerrods, Hexham. His memorial tablet is on the wall of the north chancel aisle. The white background on the sinister (right-hand) side shows that his wife survived him. His wife Elizabeth Mary, a grand-daughter of Charles Shaftoe of Carrycoats, died in 1819 aged 22. He was a distant relation by marriage to Martha, wife of Robert Clarke.
Blazon: Quarterly 1st and 4th, azure and gules an eagle displayed argent on a chief or three martlets gules [for Sparke]; 2nd and 3rd, gules three herons proper [for Heron]. On an escutcheon in pretence gules on a bend argent three molets azure [for Shafto].
Crest: an eagle displayed argent rests on a wreath or torse.
Helm facing dexter shows that this belonged to an esquire or gentleman.
Mantling gules and argent.
PhysicalDescriptionUnframed
ObjProdDate1816
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationNave/South Wall/Bay 1 (East)

ObjectNumberHEXAB3059Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1060 | HEXAB1024.2
TitleHatchment of The Revd Robert Clarke MA Lecturer 1801 d.1824
ObjectNamehatchment | flat art
Materialoil on canvas
ContentDescriptionRevd Robert Clarke, M.A. (d.1824 aged 52; buried in the Crypt), lecturer of Hexham Abbey 1801–1824. The swans were the emblems of the Clarke family, the five-pointed molets, or spur rowels, were added after his marriage to Martha, heiress of the Shafto of Carrycoats family; her arms are carried “in pretence”. The entirely black background shows that he was a widower; funerary motto: “RESURGAM” (I shall rise again).
Arms: Quarterly 1st and 4th argent on a bend gules between three roundels sable three swans argent [for Clarke]; 2nd and 3rd gules a saltire or surmounted by another vert [for Andrewes]; on an escutcheon in pretence gules on a bend argent three molets azure [for Shafto].
Crest: Upon a helm a swan proper in beak a roundel sable.
Mantling: gules and argent.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed
ObjProdDate1824
ObjectHistoryNote“Northumberland. Aug. 4.—Seduction.—This was an action brought by Thomas Carr against the Rev. Robert Clerke, to recover compensation in damages for the loss of his daughter’s services. The defendant was Lecturer at Hexham, a man of very considerable fortune, and but half a year a widower when the transaction took place. He had been married to a daughter of Mrs. Shafto, at Hexham, and had three children. He lived at Walwick, but very often visited in Mrs. Shafto’s house, and sometimes with his family for weeks. In Mrs. Shafto’s family was the daughter of the plaintiff. The plaintiff is a master tiler; being a poor man, he was assisted by part of his daughter’s wages.—The defendant took the opportunity of his frequent visits to Mrs. Shafto, to seduce the plaintiff’s daughter.— It was contended by the defendant’s Counsel, that the plaintiff could not demand compensation for the loss of his daughter’s services, it was at the option of Mrs. Shafto whether she should remain with her or not.—This opinion was supported by the Judge, and the plaintiff was nonsuited.” [from “The Examiner, A Sunday Paper, on politics, domestic economy, and theatricals for the year 1818” p.509]
“1824 … April 20.— Died, in Bridge-street, Blackfriars, London, the Rev. Robert Clarke M.A. of Walwick, rector and lecturer of Hexham, aged 53 years. May 1st, his remains arrived at Newcastle in a hearse with six horses, followed by a mourning coach with four horses; and on the 3rd, the mournful procession was joined by several private carriages, and set out with considerate heraldic splendour for Hexham, displaying a great number of banners and escutcheons. The day was one continued storm of wind and rain, but notwithstanding, as the procession approached its destination, it was met and joined by the members of the different trades, and almost all the inhabitants of Hexham, in deep mourning, to testify their respect for the deceased. The shops were shut, the bells tolled at intervals, and the throng of people, accumulating as the hearse advanced, produced an effect of imposing and melancholy awe, which was much heightened by the solemn order of the procession, the rear of it being composed of a great number of respectable gentlemen of Hexham and its neighbourhood, who walked in pairs. The funeral service was performed by the Rev. C. Lee, and after a solemn dirge on the organ, Luther’s sublime hymn was impressively chaunted. By the death of this great and good man, the town and neighbourhood of Hexham suffered an almost irreparable loss, and numerous odes, elegies, &c. &c., were written on the occasion. As a proof of the general estimation in which this gentleman was held, a sermon was preached on the occasion, in the Presbyterian chapel, Hexham, on Sunday May 9th, 1824, by the Rev. James Richardson, from 2d Samuel, 3d chap. 38th verse, and which was published by request.” [John Sykes “Historical Register” vol.II p.173]
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationNave/South Wall/Bay 2

ObjectNumberHEXAB3060Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1061 | HEXAB1024.2
TitleHatchment of The Revd Sloughter Clarke AB d.1820
ObjectNamehatchment | flat art
Materialoil on canvas
ContentDescriptionRevd Sloughter Clarke, A.B., (d.1820 aged 79; buried in the Crypt), father of Robert Clarke above. Lecturer of Hexham Abbey 1766–1801. The saltire cross was from the arms of his wife Honour, (d.1805 aged 72), heiress of Robert Andrews, Esq.; her arms are carried “in pretence”. Her memorial tablet on the west wall of the north transept bears the same arms. The swans and the three pellets, or black roundels, were the heraldic charges of the Clarke family; funerary motto: “IN CŒLO QUIES” (In heaven peace).
Arms: Argent on a bend gules between three roundels sable, three swans proper [for Clarke]; an escutcheon in pretence gules a saltire or surmounted by another vert [for Andrewes].
Crest: Above a helm a swan proper in beak a roundel sable.
Mantling: gules and argent.
PhysicalDescriptionUnframed
ObjProdDate1820
ObjectHistoryNoteFor a time after 1908: on the N wall of the Nave N Aisle, towards the E end, shadow still visible in 2017
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationNave/South Wall/Bay 3

ObjectNumberHEXAB3061Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1059 | HEXAB1024.2
TitleHatchment of Martha Clarke d.1814
ObjectNamehatchment | flat art
Materialoil on canvas
ContentDescriptionMartha Clarke, (d.1814 aged 28; buried in the Crypt), wife of Robert Clarke above and daughter of Charles Shaftoe of Carrycoats by his second wife. Her memorial tablet on the west wall of the north transept bears the same arms. The white background on the dexter (left-hand) side shows that her husband survived her. Her arms were identical to her husband’s but, because she was a woman, the crest was omitted and three cherubs were placed above the shield.
Arms: Quarterly 1st and 4th argent on a bend gules between three roundels sable three swans marchant proper [for Clarke]; 2nd and 3rd gules saltire or surmounted by another vert [for Andrewes]; on an escutcheon in pretence gules on a bend argent three molets azure [for Shafto].
PhysicalDescriptionUnframed
ObjProdDate1814
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationNave/South Wall/Bay 4

ObjectNumberHEXAB3062Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1038 | HEXAB4125
TitleHatchment of Sir Percy Loraine Bt. PC GCMG 1880–1961
ObjectNamehatchment | flat art
Materialoil on canvas
ContentDescriptionSir Percy Loraine, Bt., P.C., G.C.M.G., (b.1880, d.1961 aged 80), succeeded in 1917 as twelfth Baronet of Kirkharle.
All baronets bear as an augmentation to their arms the Badge of Ulster, the “Red Hand”, on a silver field.
Arms: Quarterly sable and argent a cross quarterly counterchanged; on a canton argent a sinister hand couped at the wrist gules. The arms are encircled by the collar of The Most Distinguished Order of St Michael and St George and the crest: Out of a naval crown or a dexter arm having a wreath of laurel proper and grasping a trident of the first.
Motto of the Order: AUSPICIUM MELIORIS ÆVI [A pledge of better times]
Helm: An open vizored helm in steel set full-face, the entitlement of a baronet.
Mantling: black lined with silver.
Supporters: a black horse and a white horse.
Family motto: SÆVUMQUE TRIDENTUM SERVAMUS [We preserve the dreaded trident]
Funerary motto: LAURO SCUTOQUE RESURGO [Arise again with laurel and shield]
ObjProdPersonAlan Cook, Art Master at Linskill School in North Shields
ObjProdDate1961
ObjectHistoryNoteHe was appointed Ambassador in Turkey in 1933 and in 1939 he was transferred to Rome, where he warned Churchill of the Fascist threat. He owned Styford Manor and Staward Hall and, because he retained his love for the countryside round Hexham, he asked for his banner as a Knight Grand Cross, St Michael and St George to be hung in the Abbey. It hangs in the nave aisle, and the hatchment which was commissioned by his family hangs in the nave. It is unusual to find 20th century hatchments as the custom is virtually extinct. Of some 4,500 recorded about 1990 only 120 were of the twentieth century.
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationNave/South Wall/Bay 5
ReferenceEP 184/137 (1963) Papers re the Sir Percy Loraine hatchment and banner.
1963.To Lady Louise Loraine for: 1. Sir Percy Loraine’s brass plate on back of choir stalls. 2. Hatchment on wall. 3. St Michael and St George banner on north side of choir “previously hung in the London chapel of the Order”. Faculty Regr. no.3. Faculty no.2288, 14.2.1963. NRO EP.184/80.

ObjectNumberHEXAB3063 Click on
Thumbnail
for
28 photos
AssocObjNumberHEXAB9032
TitleRoyal Arms
ObjectNamepainting | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionOil paint on boards. Royal Arms as used between 1714 and 1801, i.e. for the reigns of George I and George II, and the first part of the reign of George III.
1. ROYAL SHIELD OF ARMS: The arms of England and Scotland quartered, with those of France, Ireland, and Hanover; the shield being encircled with the Garter.
FIRST (PRINCIPAL) QUARTER: England impaling Scotland. The arms of England placed side-by-side with those of Scotland to show the alliance (as with the arms of a married couple).
ARMS OF ENGLAND: Gules, three lions passant guardant in pale or [On a red field three golden lions one above the other walking along facing to the left watching sideways]
ARMS OF KING OF SCOTS: Or, a lion rampant within a double tressure flory counter-flory gules. [On a golden field a red lion erect, one paw on the ground, looking forward with tail erect within a border composed of two narrow parallel lines interlaced with fleur-de-lis pointing alternately inwards and outwards] The Hexham panel omits the tressure to the right of the lion rather than omitting the tressure to the left (heraldic dexter) which is the conventional way to show it.
SECOND QUARTER: France Modern. ARMS OF FRANCE: Azure, three fleur-de-lis. [A blue field with three golden fleur-de-lis, two over one]
THIRD QUARTER: Ireland. ARMS OF IRELAND: Azure, a harp or stringed argent. [On a blue field a golden harp with silver strings] Usually seven strings; the Hexham panel has ten golden strings.
FOURTH QUARTER: House of Hanover. Tierced in pairle reversed: 1) Gules, two leopards passant guardant in pale or (for Brunswick); 2) Or, seme of hearts gules, a lion rampant azure (for Luneburg); 3) Gules, a horse courant argent (for Westphalia); and over all an inescutcheon gules charged with the golden crown of Charlemagne.
Three parts divided vertically and by a chevron (a Continental form of marshalling). In the Hexham panel the lines of the chevron are curved, instead of the usual straight lines. The parts bear: 1) ARMS OF BRUNSWICK: on a red field two golden leopards walking along looking watching sideways; 2) ARMS OF LUNEBURG: on a golden field strewn with red hearts a blue lion erect; 3) ARMS OF WESTPHALIA: on a red field a silver galloping horse. Over all three the arms of office or badge of the Arch Treasurer of the Holy Roman Empire, an office held by George I, George II and George III: on a small red shield the Crown of Charlemagne.
THE GARTER: The Sovereign and Knights Companion of The Most Noble Order of the Garter have encircled their arms with a representation of the Garter, buckled and looped with the end pendant (hanging down) since the reign of Henry VIII. It is of deep blue velvet edged, buckled and adorned with gold and enscribed with the motto of the order: Honi soit qui mal y pense [Evil be to him who evil thinks]
2. THE ROYAL CREST: The Royal Crown proper upon the Royal Helm, thereon a lion statant guardant or, regally crowned proper.
THE ROYAL HELM: A golden helmet shown affronte [full-face], usually with seven golden bars for a visor and with a scarlet lining showing through the visor. In the Hexham panel it has eight bars. Upon the Royal Helm is:
THE ROYAL CROWN or CROWN OF STATE: The heraldic royal crown is the symbol of sovereignty; it is based on that made for Charles II. It is of gold, the rim is studded with pearls showing a sapphire between two emeralds with a ruby at either end. There are two arches studded with pearls, springing from crosses and fleur-de-lis set alternately upon the rim, surmounted by the orb – a golden ball surmounted by a cross. Within the Crown is:
CAP of MAINTENANCE of crimson velvet, lined and turned up at the rim with ermine (white with black flecks). In the Hexham panel the lining is omitted. The cap and helm are surmounted by
THE LION: A golden lion standing on all four paws, sideways on, but watching sideways, crowned with an arched royal crown in its usual colour.
3. THE MANTLING: Monarchs had used red mantling lined with ermine until Elizabeth I changed the red for gold. In the Hexham panel the mantling is wrongly coloured for the House of Hanover, being red lined with silver. The mantling was a small mantle or cloak attached to the helm and hanging down over the shoulders of the wearer, perhaps to protect the head and shoulders from the heat of the sun. It is a decorative accessory to the crest and shield which, because its design was not laid down, could be treated imaginatively by the draughtsman. It could have jagged edges to depict the rents and cuts received in battle.
4. THE SUPPORTERS: Two creatures, one on either side of the shield, literally supporting the shield:
Dexter: THE LION of ENGLAND: A lion rampant guardant or, regally crowned proper [A lion erect watching sideways royally crowned in its usual colours]
Sinister: THE UNICORN of SCOTLAND introduced by James VI of Scotland to replace the red dragon of Henry VIII: a unicorn argent, armed, unguled and crined, or [A silver unicorn with golden horn, mane, beard, tufts and hooves; about the neck a golden coronet composed of paw-shaped crosses and golden fleur-de-lis and attached to this was a golden chain passing between the forelegs and reflexed over the back]
5. THE COMPARTMENT: Below the shield is a decorative panel often containing a grassy mound on which the supporters stand and rest the shield. In the Hexham panel the supporters stand on golden scrolls, with:
THE ROYAL BADGES: The English rose and the Scottish thistle slipped and leaved proper [with stalks]. Below the Badges is:
THE ROYAL MOTTO: Dieu et mon droit [My God and my right] It is in gold lettering on a deep blue background and is derived from a war-cry which has been used from the time of King Henry IV.
PhysicalDescriptionUnframed. Supported on bracket after conservation by Annabel Remnant Dec 2014 – Jan 2015 [conservation report HEXAB9032]
ObjProdDate1714–1801
ObjectHistoryNoteFor a time after 1908 high up at the east end of the south wall of the nave, possibly since 1870 in the then vestry annex. On the west wall of the nave from 1975 at the latest.
DimensionsH 1685 | W 1705
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationNave/West End/West Wall
ReferenceFaculty: 2013, 15 February. To clean and treat the George III Arms in accordance with the letters of Mr C.N. Dallison of 23rd July 2012 and 19th November 2012 and with the reports of Annabelle Remnant of 29th November 2011 and 16th October 2012. The DAC recommends:— (1) Consultation with the Church Buildings Council.

ObjectNumberHEXAB3064 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitlePersonal History of Our Lord Jesus Christ by Revd Canon Linton, late Vicar and Rural Dean of Birkenhead
ObjectNamewall-chart | flat art
Materialpaper
CreditLineDonated by Mrs Joseph Linton, widow of the Revd J Linton
ContentDescriptionArranged in columns titled: Place, Prophecy, Miracle, Events (Before Birth, Birth & Childhood, Youth, Baptism to 1st Passover, 1st Year of Ministry, 2nd & 3rd ditto), Parable, Discourses, General Events.
Columns and subsections under ‘Events’ coloured. Main titles and margin dates in black sans serif typeface. Text entries with serifs derived from Trajan. General character ernest, didactic and clear: not for young children but for those approaching leaving age or beyond – probably Sunday School advanced.
PhysicalDescriptionPaper mounted on linen. Top edge torn where taken from original chart-hanging rod. One bad tear top left reaching through main title to top of chart titles.
Needs repair – linen support.
ObjProdPersonRevd Canon Linton
ObjProdOrganisationConstructed printed and published by W & A K Johnston, Edinburgh & London
ObjProdDate1899
DimensionsH 1725 (5 ft 8 in) | W 715 (2 ft 4 in)
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3067.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleDescent from Cross/Deposition after Pieter Cœcke van Ælst
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionFrom the School of Antwerp, c1500–1550, probably a copy by Pieter Cœcke Van Ælst after a lost painting by Quentin Metyz.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotographic copy (with some retouching) of painting HEXAB3067.1 which is stored off-site.
ObjProdDatelate 20th cent
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB9009.1 | HEXAB185 | HEXAB9019.18 | HEXAB203
TitleParclose Screen Painted Panels
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionTen painted panels each showing a mitred bishop including St Eata, St Wilfrid, and St John of Beverley.
PhysicalDescriptionThis is a section, possibly of rood loft or pulpitum consisting of ten surviving panels. It is a fragment and can be stylistically and technically paired (on the basis of the structure and the pigments) to the Apostle-set now placed at the front of the rostrum [HEXAB203]. It is currently set into a partly modern and partly mediæval screen. The upper transom is original. The panels are no longer set into a sill or bressumer, so they are hanging from a batten or battens behind. The panels are probably of nonimported origin, as there are knots apparent. Possibly, two or three more panels were part of this scheme originally.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
ObjectHistoryNote2012: infra-red photographs taken [HEXAB9009]
Some time after 1908, until about 1964: against N wall of N Chancel Aisle, immediately east of the cart hole; see lantern-slide HEXAB9019.18
Prior to 1907: at right-hand (south) end of top row of painted panels on the Smithson Screen facing west.
DimensionsL 316cm overall | each panel: H 89cm | W 25–26cm except easternmost 21cm
CurrentLocNotefixed | bottom of screen [HEXAB185] N side of chapel
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel
Reference1964. To remove 2 panels of the mediæval paintings on wood from their present position in the North Choir Aisle to positions as follows: 1. To refix the panel with paintings of the Bishops to the lower part of the screen in St Etheldreda’s Chapel. … Faculty Regr. no.3. Faculty no.2356, 2.6.1964. NRO EP.184/80.

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 1 Archbishop saint (St Wilfrid or St John of Beverley)
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionHas staff, cross and book and partial banner that appears to have been painted out. Background is yellow with red flowers, while behind the now missing tracery it was red.
PhysicalDescriptionSingle board with a number of splits, one section has split off on the right-hand side and has shifted downwards, where it is remounted misaligned. There is a central split starting from the top going halfway and there is a split in the top left-hand side, which runs about 20cm and which has some movement. There is no framework on the left-hand side of the panel. It is held with a large screw at the bottom of the panel into what appears to be a horizontal batten, which is behind the whole set of panels. Nailed at the top with three nails to some kind of beam or batten behind. Tracery is absent on this panel.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 25cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 2 St Eata
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionBanner, which reads “St Eata VII anos”. Red background with white flowers. Crosier in left hand; right hand raised in blessing.
PhysicalDescriptionTwo splits to the single panel, bottom right hand corner, no movement. Extends approximately 10cm. Top right hand side stretching through 60% of the panel, no movement. Three nails attach it to batten along the bottom. There are some old nails holding the tracery in place.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 26.2cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 3 St (unknown)
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionBackground was yellow with red flowers but it survives poorly and the red flowers are very blanched like the inter-tracery paint remains. The scroll is blank. No iconoclasm evident. Crosier in left hand, closed book in right.
PhysicalDescriptionThis is a single panel. Sight size width is 25.5cm. It has split down the middle, there is some movement and the boards are not level across the split. There is another split on the left hand side that travels all the way from the bottom up and there is movement. There is a split in the bottom right corner, there is no movement. There is a split in the top right corner and another running down the right hand side to half the panel length. There is no surviving tracery head. There is a further split on the left hand side nearer the central split starting at the bottom which extends about 15cm and has no movement. There are nails at the top which appear to relate to the attachment of tracery, with a few more points of attachment visible at the base of the panel.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 25.5cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 4 Archbishop
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionTracery heads are green. Can see red from when tracery was painted. Orange red lead background with white flowers. More orange red lead background compared to red lead and vermilion layering visible on the second bishop. The painted scroll is blank. Primatial cross in left hand.
PhysicalDescriptionStructurally one panel. Sight size width is 25.4cm. Two splits starting from the bottom, one central, one to the left. Movement. Two splits left edge starting from the top. First runs almost the whole length, the second half the length of the panel, movement in these. This would have to be repaired in a studio setting, not in situ. Safely mounted, but the board is not coherent currently due to the extent of splitting. No tracery survives but malrand shows that the panels were painted with the tracery applied. Can see remains of nails formerly to hold tracery.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 25.4cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.5Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 5
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionThe background has a mix of red and green flowers over the yellow, possible a later yet mediæval adaptation, as some of the green ones go over the red ones (but these are quite crude paintings so who knows?). Tracery head is red in this instance. Crosier in left hand.
PhysicalDescriptionStructurally one panel. 25.6 cm sight size. Five splits starting from the bottom. There is considerable movement from the third onwards towards the right. From the top there is a severe split close to the right hand edge that also nearly meets up to the one at the bottom. If the structure is ever moved, this should be addressed structurally to strengthen this piece. Remnants of nails that would have held the now missing tracery in place are present.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 25.6cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.6Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 6
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionThe tracery heads were green with red spilling over from the painting red of the tracery. No iconoclasm evident. Crosier in left hand; right hand raised in blessing, two fingers pointing to his right.
PhysicalDescriptionThree splits along the bottom. There is some movement in them. It is a single panel and none of the splits span the full length of the panel. There is another split in the top right hand corner where there is also a hole. There are traces of nails to attach the now missing tracery. There is a natural kink in the timber in the top right hand corner, a knot cut out. This would formerly have been covered by the tracery.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 25.4cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.7Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 7
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionThe tracery heads are red, the ground is white, probably chalk and the background of the panels was yellow. The decoration is different; only four large dots perhaps to separate it from his cloak which is floral with 5 petals. Crosier in left hand; right hand raised in blessing, two fingers pointing to his left.
PhysicalDescriptionFour splits starting from the bottom. There is movement in the second split from the left-hand side which extends around half way through the composition. The third split continues from top to bottom with a 5mm wide gap at the top. Structural repairs would have to be undertaken in a studio setting but the panel is currently stable in its present setting. There is a hole, which appears to have been deliberately cut, and might be a squint. Tracery does not survive. Boards seem to have a bevel along the bottom. This board survives better than many of the others. The boards appear to be as much as 12mm thick but bevel to about 4mm where they formerly slotted into a sill (if a screen dado) or bresummer (if a screen loft).
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 26cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.8Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 8
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionGreen tracery heads. Red background with yellow floral decorations, some have five or six petals, others have four in total. No evidence of iconoclasm. Figure has no banner. Crosier in left hand; right hand raised in blessing, two fingers pointing to his right.
PhysicalDescriptionPanel is a single piece. Sight size width of the panel is 25.7cm. Two splits from the bottom. Central one is moving and stepped in the bottom part and there is a split from the top right about 8cm. There is a 20cm long split on the upper far right hand side and it ends with a knot in the timber which is still present and exhibits wild grain in the surrounding area. There has been a knock to the bottom right hand corner that has splintered and which could be repaired in situ. No surviving tracery.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 25.7cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.9Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 9
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionTracery heads painted red. Loss to paint is fairly extensive in the background and in the central part of the bishop’s garment. The background was yellow with red floral design. No banner. No evidence of iconoclasm. Clasped book and crosier held by left arm.
PhysicalDescriptionSingle board panel. Sight size width is 26cm.There are two splits starting from the bottom. The first on the left extends 30cm up and there is no movement. The second one travels upwards in a serpentine manner up to 10cm from the top. It is extremely stepped. A little movement, not very much concern. There is a split beginning 20cm in from the bottom and extending upwards to within 5cm of the top of the panel. There is a split beginning from the top left corner extending 20cm down with no movement. Another split close to right hand edge from top running diagonally down near edge to within 25cm from the bottom. This is also stepped. This could have been induced by the restraining of the panel in its framework because it is an erratic grained panel (probably therefore of local origin). Tracery missing. Remnants of nails where tracery was attached still present.
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 26cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3068.10Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBishop 10
ObjectNamepainted-panel | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionThe tracery heads are green and the tracery has traces of paint. Yellow face and red inner lining, as per the Apostle series. Red background with white flowers. Crosier in left hand; right hand raised in blessing, two fingers pointing to his right.
PhysicalDescriptionSingle panel. The sight size is 21.7cm. There are four splits starting from the bottom. They extend almost all the way and they are quite open. There is some movement in the second split and there is furthermore a section missing in the bottom right hand corner. The section missing in the bottom right hand corner is about 7 × 2.5cm, and it is associated with a split running up 75% of the way. It is loose and this would require structural work in a studio. The top half of the tracery on this panel is still extant. This section abuts a section of castellated transom in two sections, this does not look original in its format, but is the same as the original transom and probably derived from the wider object
ObjProdDatelate 15th cent
DimensionsH 89cm | W 21.7cm
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3076Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB209 | HEXAB9030.1 | HEXAB9030.2 | HEXAB9030.3 | HEXAB9030.4
TitleMadonna and Child with St Elizabeth and the infant John the Baptist and Two Angels
ObjectNamepainting | flat art
Materialcanvas
ContentDescriptionContemporary version of original in the Louvre (no.1515) by Andre del Sarto
Crowded composition – Christ centre on Mary’s lap, she to left and John the Baptist, a slightly larger child to right. Top RH sector occupied by
S. Elizabeth looking down with gaze embracing the other three. Two angels, heads close complete an embracing arc in the top LH sector.
Full Conservator’s report, with treatment carried out in 2007 available. [HEXAB9030.1 & .2]
PhysicalDescriptionframe 250 all around. frame gilded wood, not glazed. The wooden frame (180 × 154 × 15 cm) is of substantial weight. Its elaborate moulded decoration, which gives a great depth to the design, dates it to the nineteenth century.
ObjProdDate16th cent
ObjectHistoryNote“In August 1906, our kind supporter, C.W.C. Henderson, Esq., of the Riding, made a permanent loan to the Church in the form of an heirloom in his family, a fine picture of the Holy Family after Andrea del Sarto. This has been placed over the Communion Table…” [Savage & Hodges 1907 p.34]
According to a label, found on the stretcher, the painting was restored and possibly reframed by T.Rushworth and Son of Durham.
Donated 1908 by Mr C.W.C. and Mrs Henderson of The Riding, Acomb. He travelled widely so he may have bought the painting abroad or possibly from Mr Rushworth who was also an art dealer. [ANV 82 April 2008 p.17]
21/11/2006 – 25/06/2007: Painting conserved by Barbara Stabik, a final year Masters student at Northumbria University, School of Arts & Social Sciences, Burt Hall, Newcastle.
2007: Conservation and restoration of the Gilt moulded frame was carried out by Jude Proudlock at Haughton Castle. Holy Family: strengthening timber at back of frame [Raine, A J].
RelatedDocumentationComposition popular. Several versions from the workshop of: Andrea del Sarto (1486–1531) [with Fra Bartolomeo] the most important painter in Florence when Raphael and Michelangelo active in Rome. Best painter, as opposed to draughtsman in 16th century Florence – more feeling for tone and colour than any contemporaries first to depart from coloured drawing in favour of composition by patches of coloured light and shade – actual draughtsmanship from Michelangelo – also borrowed from newly-arrived engravings of Dürer.
1518–1519 visited France at invitation of Francis I – well received but broke contract in order to return to his wife who in the opinion of contemporaries, ruined him. Browning’s poem prob. best explanation of failure to live up to great promise but his works are of great importance in evolution of Florentine painting, especially the Holy Families, often in half length. Works in Louvre including some painted in France
[P. & L. Murray Penguin Ref. Dictionary of Art & Artists 1959 pp.7–8]
DimensionsFrame: 1540 × 1800 × 150
CurrentLocNoteon display | on rood screen [HEXAB209] above reredos
CurrentLocationChancel/Presbytery
ReferenceFaculty: 2006, 9 November. 1. To effect conservation work to the painting of the Holy Family which hangs over the High Altar. …

ObjectNumberHEXAB3078Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChrist Pantocrator icon
ObjectNameicon | flat art
ContentDescriptionPantocrator means the Almighty, the Ruler of the Universe. Icons were not there to be worshipped; they were a focus to aid people in prayer, to give examples of saints who had lead holy lives. [Revd Professor Andrew Louth, Orthodox Priest at the University of Durham, 23.11.2007]
ObjProdDatelate 20th cent?
ObjectHistoryNoteThe PCC also saw an icon depicting Christ Pantocrator given to the Abbey some twelve years ago by Mr William Bailey Cooper in memory of his mother. Mr Bailey Cooper had been surprised, on a recent visit, that the icon was not on display and, after discussion, the PCC agreed to the icon being placed next to the votive candle by the high altar (the detail of the fixing to be agreed) on a non-permanent basis. [ANV 76a June 2007 p.10]
Mr William Bailey Cooper had bought it from a church in Tirgu Mures, Transylvania, Romania, whilst on a coach-touring holiday after his mother had died in 1996. It would have been written in a monastery of the Eastern Orthodox Church. The name of the creator of an icon was never revealed as it would divert the looker’s concentration; the focus should always be entirely on the figure depicted. He was delighted with the way that it had been carefuly mounted on an appropriate paddle-shaped piece of wood and was sure that his mother and his family would be pleased with its location. [CND, 18 August 2007]
The icon was dedicated on Sunday, 25th November 2007, the feast of Christ the King.
Dimensions225 × 310
CurrentLocNoteon display | N end of Chancel steps at candle stand
CurrentLocationChancel/North Aisle

ObjectNumberHEXAB3079Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB172
TitleSt Wilfrid
ObjectNameicon | flat art
ContentDescriptionWilfrid with halo, right hand raised in blessing, left holding an odd-looking book. ‘SAINT’ vertically at top left; ‘WIL | FRID’ at top right.
PhysicalDescriptionDedicated Sept 1996. Painted by Brother Aidan of orthodox Community at Hermitage of St Anthony and St Cuthbert, Shropshire
ObjProdPersonAidan Hart
ObjProdDatec1996
ObjectHistoryNote“I asked the Rector, Michael Middleton if I could give an icon of St Wilfred [sic] to the Abbey to be sited in St Etheldreda’s Chapel. He suggested creating a Chapel of St Wilfrid to house the icon. The Chapel is certainly a place of sanctity. The icon was painted by a Greek Orthodox Monk.” [A Visitor Recollections page from S Transept 17/10/2013 by Margaret Waters, Newcastle]
Dimensions295 × 420
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationChancel/North Aisle/St Wilfrid’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3080Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Parish Magazine Almanack 1895
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionEight illustrations including Abbey from NW. Clergy listed:
Canon Barker MA, Hexham
Revd H. R. Moule BA, St Andrew’s Cottage
Revd G. Robinson BA, 2 Burnsland Terrace.
Service Times. Magazine published 28th of each month, price 1d., sold at 8 Gilesgate, Messrs Baty & Scott, W. Moore, Fore Street.
PhysicalDescriptionHardboard backing. Limed wood frame.
ObjProdOrganisationPublished at the Offices of “Home Words”, 7 Paternoster Square, London EC.
Printed by George Berridge & Co Printers, 179–180 Upper Thames Street, EC.
ObjProdDate1895
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre Rector’s office NE cupboard.
DimensionsH 520 | W 745 | frame H 570 | W 795
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3081Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey: The North Transept from the North West
ObjectNamepen-&-ink | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextHexham Abbey from graveyard (NNW) with Mercers Doorway reconstructed c1890
HEXAB3081
Pen-and-ink. No signature, no date, but by Charles Clement Hodges, architect and antiquarian, c1890
The doorway, built soon after 1625, was the main entrance to the church for about 250 years. It was also the most prominent renaissance classical feature of the Abbey’s exterior. After the Abbey was dissolved, the cloister buildings and the land to the south became private property. The remains of the nave were dismantled so the only access from the town was along the Abbey Flags from Cowgarth or Market Place. This doorway was convenient for the graveyard but its north-facing position exposed it to icy blasts; to counteract these, an internal porch was built. The removal of houses on the west side of the Market Place and the building of Beaumont Street in the 1860s made it possible to approach the Abbey from the south; so the north door was closed. Dismissed as ‘modern’ and ugly by strict Gothic revivalists, it was removed in 1869.
ContentDescriptionView from NNW from Campy Hill graveyard before stone removed – with Mercers Doorway. Figures: large man and two children [v. small scale]. “The north transept is shewn as it appeared before the alterations of 1870.” Signed at an angle bottom r.h. corner: “Charles C. Hodges | 1886”.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges | W.H. Knowles
ObjProdOrganisationGeo. Waterston & Sons. Photo Lith
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNoteUsed as Plate 2 in Hodges 1888 Monograph which has “Charles Clement Hodges direx. W.H. Knowles del. from a photograph by J.P. Gibson taken 1858.”
pre-2015 in Parish Centre stairwell N wall
DimensionsH 580 | W 390 | frame H 795 | W 600
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3082Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey: The Transepts looking North
ObjectNamepen-&-ink | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextHexham Abbey Interior View from South Transept to North Transept.
HEXAB3082
Foot of Night Stair just appears at left. Pen-and-ink/pencil by Charles Clement Hodges, 1883 or 1888 (date obscured by mount)
ContentDescriptionDated but slightly obscured by the mount. No figures; plate 4 in 1888 Monograph: “The western arch of the tower was opened out in 1869, and, at the same time, the floor was lowered to the original level, and a great improvement made in the appearance of the transepts.”
PhysicalDescriptionplain mount. frame plain black
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1883?
ObjectHistoryNotepre-2015 in Parish Centre stairwell N wall
Dimensionsvisible picture H 640 | W 355 | Frame H 840 | W 545
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3083.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleAngel with Monogram of Prior Leschman
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionCharcoal drawing of lead medal.
Handwritten below drawing: ‘Charcoal Drawing – Kathleen Sisterson | 1997’
Handwriten bottom left: ‘Lead medal size 3 cms. | Date 15th Century | Found in Hexham area | by Mr W. G. Weller | Face: Rebus of Prior Rowland Leschman | Hexham Abbey (1480 – 1491)’
PhysicalDescriptionframed, glazed, originally behind mount which explains slight darkening of paper from light exposure
ObjProdPersonKathleen Sisterson
ObjProdDate1997
Dimensionsframe 295 × 345
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3084Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSt Etheldreda holding model of church (at Ely?)
ObjectNameicon | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionSaint is wearing cloak over blue. Right hand raised in blessing. Left hand holds model of church (at Ely?). Jewels, crown and necklace
ObjProdPersonAidan Hart
ObjProdOrganisationAidan Hart Icons, 94 Underdale Road, Shrewsbury, Shrops. SY2 5EE
ObjProdDate2014
ObjectHistoryNoteTo be varnished after March 2015
DimensionsH 561 | W 449 | D31 full + batten plank 65
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationVisitor Centre/Monastic Workshop

ObjectNumberHEXAB3085Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSt Wilfrid holding reliquary of St Andrew & Bishop’s Crook
ObjectNameicon | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionSaint Wilfrid – tonsure, stylish moustache, Bishop, purple. Right hand holds crook and left hand. reliquary of relics of St Andrew with Saltire on lid and inset with jewels. Prominent ears; cuffs with shell motif. Bishop’s ring.
PhysicalDescriptionno label but see Etheldreda dedicated together 2014
ObjProdPersonAidan Hart
ObjProdOrganisationAidan Hart Icons, 94 Underdale Road, Shrewsbury, Shrops. SY2 5EE
ObjProdDate2014
ObjectHistoryNoteTo be varnished after March 2015
DimensionsH 561 | W 449 | D 31 + battens 63
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationVisitor Centre/Monastic Workshop

ObjectNumberHEXAB3086Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleRichard Dowley 1858 – 1874
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionClerk & Verger 1858–1874. Assistant verger to 1907
PhysicalDescriptionwooden frame mount very yellow
mounted, framed, glazed.
ObjProdDatec1907
DimensionsH 550 | W 450 | photograph 250 × 325
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3087Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleRobert Robson
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionRobert Robson Parish Clerk of Hexham Abbey. Easter 1874 – 12th April 1907
also see photo HEXAB3088 with Joseph 1905, father & son.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed, glazed
ObjProdDate20th cent
Dimensionsphotograph size 240 × 300 | H 520 | W 420
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3088Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB2047.1 | HEXAB2025
TitleJoseph & Robert Robson
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionRobert and Joseph Robson (father & son) Hexham Abbey Vergers 1905 stand in the NE Corner of the Chapter House lobby ruins; father slightly in front and better defined holds a long staff with orb top HEXAB2047.1. Son behind holds short verge HEXAB2025. Both in vergers’ gowns, father a hat, too, and bearded
PhysicalDescriptionDated & mounted on card
ObjProdDate1905
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3089Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleWilliam Dodd 1907 – 1925
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionWilliam Dodd Parish clerk & Verger June 16th 1907 – Sept 30th 1925
Photograph seriously silvered. Went to Lichfield “dieded” (on back)
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed & glazed
ObjProdDate20th cent
DimensionsH 510 | W 413 | photo size | 250 × 300
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3090Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleW. T. Taylor 1925 – 1963
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionW. T. Taylor, Clerk and Verger, Hexham Abbey, Oct 1925 – Easter 1963, at foot of Night Stair. Colour photograph
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed & glazed. Hogarth frame
ObjProdPersonJ. E. Hedley
ObjProdDate20th cent
DimensionsH 530 | W 430 | photo. 330 × 270
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3091Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleW. Hill 1963 – 1964
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionWilfred Hill, Clerk & Verger, Hexham Abbey, April 1963 – December 1964
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed & glazed
Oak frame colour photo.
ObjProdPersonJ E Hedley
ObjProdDatec1964
DimensionsH 560 | W 465 | colour photo. 290 × 370
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3092Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleG. W. Hood 1965 – 1967
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionGeorge W Hood, Verger, Feb.1965 – Nov.1967, on chancel steps
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, frames & glazed ‘fake’ Hogarth frame
ObjProdDatec1967
DimensionsH 530 | W 425 | colour photograph 300 × 360
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3093Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleGeorge Marshall 1967 – 1970
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionGeorge Marshall, Verger, November 1967 – April 1970, at foot of Night Stair
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed, glazed
Fake Hogarth frame
ObjProdPersonJ E Hedley
ObjProdDatec1970
DimensionsH 530 | W 425 | colour photograph | 285 × 370
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3094Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleGeorge Trayhern 1970 – 1984
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionGeorge William Marriott Trayhurn, Verger 1970 – October 1984; before high altar; surname misspelt in title.
PhysicalDescriptionmounted, framed & glazed
ObjProdDate20th cent
DimensionsH 330 | W 253 | photograph | 155 × 200
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3095Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleJames Armstrong 1987 – 1990
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionJames Armstrong, Nov. 1987 – July 1990
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed & glazed; colour photograph
ObjProdDatec1990
DimensionsH 330 | W 255 | photo size 125 × 170
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3096Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleDerek Thompson
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionDerek Thompson, September 1990 – December 2002
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed & glazed. Hogarth frame
ObjProdDate20th cent
DimensionsH 362 | W 295 | colour photo size 175 × 233
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3097Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleJulia Rudd
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionMrs Julia Rudd, Verger of Hexham Abbey, December 2002 – December 2005
before Lady CHapel altar
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, frames & glazed
Simple block
ObjProdDatec2005
DimensionsH 315 | W 230 | colour photo 145 × 250
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3098.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleE. John Arthur
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionE. John Arthur, Verger, January 2006 – January 2013; 1 of 2 different images.E. John Arthur, Verger, January 2006 – January 2013; 1 of 2 different images.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed & glazed; brown wooden frame
ObjProdDatec2013
DimensionsH 410 | W330 | colour photo. 180 × 230
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3098.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleJohn Arthur, Verger
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionE John Arthur, Verger, January 2006 – January 2013; 1 of 2 different images.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed & glazed; brown wooden frame
ObjProdDatec2013
DimensionsH 410 | W330 | colour photo. 180 × 230
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3099Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitlePascal Lamb
ObjectNamepainting | flat art
PhysicalDescriptionframed by Thos Ellis; Gold frame
ObjProdDate20th cent
DimensionsH 230 | W 230 | painting dia 150
CurrentLocNotein small niche in south wall
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/East Aisle/Bay 2: St Etheldreda’s Chapel

ObjectNumberHEXAB3100Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleDescent into Hell (Anastasis)
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialwood panel
ContentDescriptionPrint of Russian icon. Descent into Hell. Full text on back. From Vologda, Church of St George. Museum since 1925. Original 15th century?
PhysicalDescriptionnot framed; label on rear ‘Cat. No. 60 Vologda Museum’
CurrentLocationVestry

ObjectNumberHEXAB3129Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleH.M. the Queen’s visit
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionQueen’s visit 1974 with choirboys.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed, glazed
ObjProdPersonHylton Edgar
ObjProdDate1974
DimensionsH 450 | W 650
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3130Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir on Night Stair – seen from organ loft
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionChoir on night stair black/white, by permission of the Times; view from Organ Loft
PhysicalDescriptionFramed, glazed, oak
DimensionsFrame H 720 | W 940
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3131Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionChoir in colour (undated) Pattinsons
PhysicalDescriptionmounted
ObjProdOrganisationPattinsons
ObjProdDate2000?
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3132Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionChoir – colour photo
PhysicalDescriptionFramed/glazed
ObjProdDate1995
Dimensionsframe H 290 | W 340
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3133Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB3179
TitleGirls choir in North Transept facing north
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionColour Choir photo. Girls in North Transept choir facing north.
View of choir in semi-circle with conductor (rear elevation) in foreground; Crossing and S. Transept beyond
PhysicalDescriptionMount/glazed, clip-frame
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3134Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleWinning choirboy trophy in memory of Stephen Vipond
ObjectNametrophy | flat art
Materialoak
ContentDescriptionTrophy for winning choirboy in memory of Stephen Vipond choirboy 1963 – 1966. Central shield is that of The Royal School of Church Music with its motto “Psallam spiritu et mente” – I will sing with the spirit and with the understanding also (1 Corinthians 14:15). Small metal shields with name of winning choirboy each year.
PhysicalDescriptionTriple shield oak
Inscription
IN MEMORY OF
STEPHEN VIPOND
CHOIRBOY 1963–1966
ObjProdDate1966–1967
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3135Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleGirls choir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionGirls choir – not in Hexham date not known
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3136Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleGirls choir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionGirls choir undated; Beverley Minster
PhysicalDescriptionmount glazed
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3137Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleGirls choir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionGirls choir with Michael Haynes
PhysicalDescriptionframed, glazed
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3138Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleAbbey Choir on night stairs
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionAbbey choir (1996) on night stairs
PhysicalDescriptionmount/frame/glazed
ObjProdDate1996
DimensionsFrame H 520 | W 430 | photo. H 235 | W 180
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3139Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir in cloister
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionChoir assembled in cloister colour. Henry Wallace choir master
PhysicalDescriptionmount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDate1980s
DimensionsH 525 | W 525
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3140Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey choir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionHexham Abbey choir – cloister
PhysicalDescriptionmount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDateJul 1979
DimensionsH 510 | W 525
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3141Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir on night stairs
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionundated photo. Choir on night stairs John Green; Henry Wallace; Michael Middleton
PhysicalDescriptionmount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDatec1985
DimensionsH 540 | W 435
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3142Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleJohn Green, Henry Wallace, Michael Middleton, and choir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptioncolour photo of John Green; Henry Wallace; Michael Middleton; and choir
PhysicalDescriptionmount/glazed
ObjProdDatec1985
DimensionsH 420 | W 500
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3143Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir on night stairs
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionChoir on night stairs. Christmas time, colour.
Michael Nelson, Michael Crow, Paul Rudd
PhysicalDescriptionmount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDate1994
DimensionsH 650 | W 537
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3144Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir in cloister
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionChoir in cloister colour
PhysicalDescriptionMount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDate2004
DimensionsH 410 | W 470
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3145Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleWedding, Paul Rudd
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionWedding presentation on occasion of Paul Rudd’s wedding to Julia Sat. July 7th 2001
PhysicalDescriptionMount/glazed
ObjProdDate7th Jul 2001
DimensionsH 280 | W 420
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3146Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleWedding, Henry/Amelia
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionHenry/Amelia Wallace wedding 16 May 1998 + John Green & choir in cloister garth
PhysicalDescriptionMount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDate16 May 1998
DimensionsH 540 | W 650
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3147Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMarriage Susan Herdman
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionMarriage — cloister — Susan Herdman to?
PhysicalDescriptionMount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDate1990s
DimensionsH 300 | W 400
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3148Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir, foot of Night Stair
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionChoir – foot of Night Stair
PhysicalDescriptionMount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDate2008
DimensionsH 572 | W 452
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3150Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleClergy, choir & vergers
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionMonochrome. In front of west cloister Hexham Abbey, clergy, choir & vergers. Named in window in mount below photo.
PhysicalDescriptionMount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDateNov 1910
DimensionsH 650 | W 745
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3151Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleRoyal School of Church Music
ObjectNamecertificate | flat art
ContentDescriptionRoyal School of Church Music
Affiliated choir – Hexham Abbey application for membership
PhysicalDescriptionMount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDate1946
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3152Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir in rehearsal
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionJohn Green with choir in rehearsal (colour)
PhysicalDescriptionMount/framed/glazed
ObjProdDate1990s?
DimensionsH 250 | W 335
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3153Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleGirls choir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescription2 unidentified photos. of girls choir in single frame, 1 monochrome, 1 coloured
PhysicalDescriptionMount/framed/glazed
DimensionsH 280 | W 350 & | H 300 | W 240
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3154Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleIn the South Aisle of the Abbey at Hexham
ObjectNamepoem | flat art
ContentDescriptionPoem by David Wright: ‘In the South Aisle of the Abbey at Hexham’
PhysicalDescriptionFramed
ObjProdPersonDavid Wright
DimensionsH 325 | W 250
CurrentLocNoteon display
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3155Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleView of German town…
ObjectNameprint | flat art
ContentDescriptionView of German (1C) town. Stylized in three shades of yellow. Print number 134/150
DimensionsH 310 | W 360
CurrentLocNoteon display | high shelf N wall
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3156 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleView of the Abbey
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
ContentDescriptionWatercolour drawing. On mount below picture: “Presented by Terry Atkinson, | Director of Music, | Hexham Abbey, 1965–1985”
Reverse signed & dated “J. Rutherford-Mills | August 1985”
ObjProdPersonJ. Rutherford Mills
ObjProdDateAug 1985
DimensionsH 362 | W 380
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3157Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMusique Sacrée en Béarn
ObjectNameposter | flat art
Materialpaper glossy print
ContentDescriptionAdvert for a concert ‘Musique Sacrée en Béarn avec la Maîtrise de l’Abbaye de Hexham’ ‘1996’ under direction of John Green.
PhysicalDescriptionnot framed rolled.
ObjProdDateApr 1996
DimensionsH 487 | W 350
CurrentLocNoteloose | brown cupboard E wall
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3158Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleCrucifixion
ObjectNamecross | flat art
MaterialMDF
ContentDescriptionCruciform spreading to include flying angel, BVM & St John below. ? print applied to frame; above Christ: ‘INRI’ = Iesus Nazarenus, Rex Iudæorum (Jesus of Nazareth, the King of the Jews) [John 19:19]
PhysicalDescriptionframed oak
ObjProdDatelate 20th cent?
DimensionsH 1570 | W 1310
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Treasury

ObjectNumberHEXAB3159Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleGirls choir
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPhotograph of girl choir holding cupcakes in song school
PhysicalDescriptionFramed; Backing MNF
DimensionsW 350 | D 280
CurrentLocNoteloose | in cupboard
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3160Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleCertificate
ObjectNamecertificate | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionTynedale Musical Festival certificate 1st place, class 48 Church & Chapel choirs 18 March 1972
PhysicalDescriptionFrame ? wood/glazed
ObjProdDate1972
DimensionsH 320 | W 260
CurrentLocNoteloose | in cupboard
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3162Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleAbbey choir poster – Metzingen
ObjectNameposter | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionAdvertising poster for Abbey Choir, in German, appearing in Martinskirche Metzingen; Evensong Wednesday 29th March & Concert Saturday 1st April
PhysicalDescriptionFramed/glazed
ObjProdDate1989
1 April ?
DimensionsH 600 | W 400
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3163Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleAbbey choir at Martinskirche Metzingen
ObjectNameposter | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPoster Martinskirche Metzingen for Abbey choir
PhysicalDescriptionFramed/glazed
ObjProdDate24 Apr 1992
DimensionsH 700 | W 500
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3173Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleRSCM Shield and Motto
ObjectNameshield | flat art
Materialwood
ContentDescriptionTwo gold stars flank bible on blue over six birds around central lyre on horizontal blue and white stripes: Royal School of Church Music. Motto on red scroll below shield: ‘PSALLAM SPIRITU ET MENTE’.
PhysicalDescriptionPainted crest mounted on shield-shaped wooden panel
CurrentLocationTower Crossing/Ringing Floor

ObjectNumberHEXAB3174Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB213
TitleOak Boss from Prior Leschman’s Chantry.
ObjectNamepen-&-ink | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextOak Boss from Prior Rowland Leschman’s Chantry
HEXAB3174
Drawing at real size, made from cast in London (but where in London?)
by Charles Clement Hodges. Signed, no date. This is an example of Hodges’s determination to learn as much about the Abbey as possible – no matter where the evidence was to be found.
ContentDescriptionDrawing of “oak boss from Prior Leschman’s Chantry | Drawn from a cast in London | real size.”; signed “Charles C. Hodges.”
PhysicalDescriptionPut into a plain black frame for temporary protection 3/3/2015 [hanging cord for horizontal use]
ObjProdPersonCharles C. Hodges
ObjProdDate1880s?
ObjectHistoryNoteDrawn from cast in London real size. Where in London? Not copied for re-instatement of Prior Leschman’s Chantry by C C Hodges about 1908.
DimensionsH 455 | W 350 | temporary frame H 500 | W 412
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHodges 1888 p.52: “On one of the centre bosses (lost in 1858), was an angel holding a shield, on which was the monogram of Prior Rowland Leschman.”

ObjectNumberHEXAB3175Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleThe Abbey of S. Andrew Hexham – Ground Plan
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextGround Plan of Abbey measured and drawn by C C Hodges 1879–80. Redrawn 1899
HEXAB3175
‘In a general way the Church is shown as it was in 1858’.
Reprinted from The Builder magazine 1st April 1899.
Photolithograph by Sprague
ContentDescriptionSigned: “Charles C Hodges. | Mens. et del 1879 – 80 | Redrawn 1899.”
“Note: In a general way the church is shown as it was in 1858.”
Key to shading for seven periods; reference letters A to T; key to monuments 1 to 7 + ledger stones 8 to 15.
Inset bottom right: Hexham Abbey, Key Plan.
PhysicalDescriptionThick paper unframed unmounted; ‘Reprinted from “THE BUILDER,” APRIL 1, 1899.’
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDate1899
DimensionsH 377 | W 505
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3176 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleMother & Child
ObjectNameengraving | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionSepia engraving Mother & Child. Murillo “Madonna” on label
Original in Gall Corsini Roma ‘868’
PhysicalDescriptionframed Hogarth (red) Label of framer: Geo(rge) HUGHES Pilgrim Street + lots of info about services offered
ObjProdDate19th cent
DimensionsFrame H 291 | W 210 | Picture H 235 | W 150
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3178Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir, men and boys, in sunlit churchyard …
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
ContentDescriptionPhoto of Choir, men and boys, in sunlit churchyard with headstones in front and tall cross (not ancient) behind left
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3180Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey choir concert, Sint-Willibrorduskerk, Antwerp
ObjectNameposter | flat art
ContentDescriptionPoster for Hexham Abbey Choir Concert Sunday 26 Oct 2014 Sint-Willibrorduskerk, Antwerpen.
with photo of W front of church: Sint-Willibrorduskerk
ObjProdDateOct 2014
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3181Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey Choir Concert St Baafskathedraal, Gent
ObjectNameposter | flat art
ContentDescriptionPoster for Hexham Abbey Choir Concert Mon 27 Oct (2014) St Baafskathedraal, Gent, with photo of choir on Chancel steps in Hexham Abbey
ObjProdDate27 Oct 2014
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3182Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey Choir Concert Hanover
ObjectNameposter | flat art
ContentDescriptionPoster for Hexham Abbey Choir Concert Sat 22 Oct 2014 Alt-Katholische-Kirche Hannover
Mon 24 Oct 2014 St Lamberti Hildesheim
Tues 25 Oct Marktkirche and Matthäuskirche Hannover
ObjProdDate2014
CurrentLocationSouth Transept/Song School

ObjectNumberHEXAB3183 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleHexham Abbey from NW
ObjectNamepainting | flat art
LabelTextHexham Abbey from the north west
HEXAB3183
Oil Painting by Fred Sainsbury, late 1980s.
Presented by Mrs Ivy Meredith of Market Drayton, 2014
Frame dull gilt. 335 × 435mm. Documentation on back.
Sometimes little is known about pictures – until they are turned over!
ContentDescriptionOil painting in unglazed gold coloured frame looking SE from the raised graveyard. Clock showing 7 o’clock.
Signed Fred Sainsbury; two envelopes containing letters and a photo affixed on verso
PhysicalDescriptionframed dull gilt
ObjProdPersonFred Sainsbury
ObjProdDatelate 1980s
ObjectHistoryNotePresented by Mrs Ivy Meredith of Market Drayton in 2014; printed documentation on verso:
“Fred was a self-taught artist who, in his 70s, painted all the English cathedrals. This painting of the Abbey was done for a neighbour in the late 1980s. It was recently donated by a Mrs Ivy Meredith of Market Drayton, a friend of that late neighbour.”
DimensionsH 335 | W 435
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3184Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitlePainted Arms of The Mercers’ Company
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPhoto of painting of full achievement: Mercers’ Maiden Crest, helm, mantle, field, and motto “HONOR DEO”; Mercers’ Maiden also appears in centre of shield on red background with fringe and clouds.
PhysicalDescriptionframed plain brown
ObjProdDate20th cent
DimensionsH 170 | W 147 | D 15
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3185Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Market Place
ObjectNameengraving | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextHexham Market Place, about 1825
HEXAB3185
A hand-coloured engraving c1830 by J Sands after a drawing the distinguished topographical artist and architect, Thomas Allom (1804–1872)
Framed with false gilt fillet 201 × 248 by Jim Cowell t/a T Ellis.
Some items in the Abbey collection relate to the town which grew up around it. The settlement seems to have started with bartering for produce at the Abbey Gate so the Market Place may well be as old as the monastery.
ContentDescriptionengraving, hand coloured titled Engraved by J Sands after T Allom. View of Market Place looking East with Old Pant in foreground and Moot Hall in background, Shambles on right.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed. Mount brown with gilt false fillet – by Jim Cowell trading as T. Ellis
ObjProdDate1832
DimensionsH 201 | W 248 | D 18
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3186Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey Choir – Mar. 10th 1946
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescription10/3/1946 photograph of clergy, organist, choir from Hexham Abbey (J. E. Hedley Hexham) Newspaper cutting [Hexham Courant 17/04/2015 Looking Back] loosely fixed on back, with the following caption:
Taking a bow are the clergy, organist and choir from Hexham Abbey around 1947 [actually 10/3/1946]. Among those pictured are, in the back row, Frank Parsons, Jack Luke, Mr Dennis, Mr Gledhill, John Sheckler, Bill Carne and Mr Burn. In the second row are Mr Sharp, Fred Robson, organist Tom Christie, the Rector of Hexham, Canon A.G. Hardie, the Rev George Chadwick, the Rev Bruce Morton, Bill Armstrong, Bill Alder and Bob Summers. The boys in the third row include Norman Charlton, Peter Robson, John Ord and Alan Botton. Those in the fourth row include John Boustead, Alan Wood, John Thomson, Billy Carne, Jim Hedley and Peter S Ribson. The only one we know in the front row is Gordon Charlton.
PhysicalDescriptionframed; needs to be secured in its frame
ObjProdPersonJ E Hedley
ObjProdDate10/3/1946
DimensionsH 215 | W266
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3187Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleEntrance Gateway, Hexham Abbey, Northumberland
ObjectNameengraving | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextHexham Priory Entrance Gateway
HEXAB3187
An engraving by J Greig after Luke Clennell (1781–1840) for Sir Walter Scott’s Border Antiquities of England and Scotland (1811)
256 × 279 Frames with false gilt fillet by Jim Cowell t/a T Ellis
The gate is sometimes called ‘Wilfrid’s Gate’ which is misleading because it dates not from the 7th Century but the mid-12th Century (c1150–1160) though it is possible, even likely, that the gateway to Wilfrid’s monastery was near the same site. Clennell was Thomas Bewick’s most distinguished apprentice and went on to a successful individual career which, probably through overwork, was clouded with bouts of insanity in his later years.
ContentDescriptionShows Abbey (“St Wilfrid’s”) Gate from south with vaulting of south bay still intact but light showing through north bay – and free-standing pier between [artist’s licence – or originally dividing cartway from pedestrian access?] Door into gabled building on left, tall wall to right, both with romantic vegetation. Foreground figures and donkey.
J Greig engraved after Luke Clennell del. for Border Antiquities of England. Modern colour washes
PhysicalDescriptionGrey mount
Framed brown wood, with false gilt fillet by J Cowell t/a T Ellis
ObjProdPersonJ Greig
ObjProdOrganisationJim Cowell t/a T Ellis
ObjProdDate1810s ?
DimensionsH 256 | W. 279
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3190.1 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleVisit of HM the Queen 1974
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
LabelTextThe visit of Her Majesty The Queen to Hexham Abbey in 1974
HEXAB3190.1
Photo by Hylton Edgar: Her Majesty at what is now called ‘The Queen’s Door’ with three clerics, one in mitre being the Bishop of Newcastle, and two ladies in the background. Need identifications 266 × 316mm
Can you help with identifications?
ContentDescriptionHM The Queen; on HM’s right: Canon Lemmon, Rector (2 Ladies-in-Waiting behind); on HM’s left: Bishop Ronald Boulby and Curate Tom Richardson (Vicar of Wall behind them).
– at what became then “The Queen’s Door” on south side of the Chancel.
PhysicalDescriptionBlack frame, glazed. Label on back: “Taken and presented to Hexham Abbey by Hylton Edgar”
ObjProdPersonHylton Edgar
ObjProdDate1974
DimensionsH 266 | W 318
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3190.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleVisit of HM Queen to Hexham Abbey in 1974
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextVisit of H.M.The Queen to Hexham in 1974
to mark the 1300th Anniversary of the Abbey’s founding.
from l.to r:
The Duke of Northumberland, Lord Percy, Lord Lieutenant
Canon Lemmon, Rector
H.M The Queen
Bishop Ronald, Bishop of Newcastle
Rev. Richardson, Curate
The Vicar of Wall
Representatives of the Roman Catholic Church, the Methodist Churches and the Salvation Army
ContentDescriptionHandwritten on back: Taken and Presented To Hexham Abbey By Hylton Edgar. 13th Hundredth Anniversary 1974.
Most names written on back, from L-R:—
The Duke of Northumberland, Lord Percy, Lord Lieutenant. Canon Lemmon, Rector. 2× L-in-W. HM The Queen. Bishop Ronald Boulby, Bishop of Newcastle. Revd Richardson, Curate. The vicar of Wall. Representatives of the Roman Catholic Church. The Methodist Church and the Salvation Army.
BriefDescriptionVisit of HM Queen to Hexham Abbey in 1974 to mark the 1300th Anniversary of the Abbey’s founding. B&W photo.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph mounted in a frame; matt glass
ObjProdDate1974
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3192Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChoir on Night Stair
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
LabelTextColour photo of Choir on Night Stair [c1960?]
HEXAB3192
This photograph was found in a cupboard without identification.
It seems to date from around 1960 but the exact date is not known.
Can you help?
ContentDescriptionphoto printed for publication; caption: THE NIGHT STAIRS, HEXHAM ABBEY
PhysicalDescriptionnot framed
ObjProdDatec1960?
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3194.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMarket Place
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionOriginal painting (watercolour, body colour, gouache?) for the Lectern notice
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3194.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleGaol/Prison
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionOriginal painting (watercolour, body colour, gouache?) for the Lectern notice
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3194.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMoot Hall
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionOriginal painting (watercolour, body colour, gouache?) for the Lectern notice
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3194.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleBeaumont Street
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionOriginal painting (watercolour, body colour, gouache?) for the Lectern notice
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3194.5Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleTannery
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionOriginal painting (watercolour, body colour, gouache?) for the Lectern notice
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3194.6Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleAbbey Cloister
ObjectNamewatercolour | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionOriginal painting (watercolour, body colour, gouache?) for the Lectern notice
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3195.1 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleLocation plans
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ObjProdOrganisationButtress Fuller Alsop Williams Architects
ObjProdDateJun 2007
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3195.2 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleSite ownership and proposed development options
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ObjProdOrganisationButtress Fuller Alsop Williams Architects
ObjProdDateJun 2007
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3195.3 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitlePlans, Options as proposed
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ObjProdOrganisationButtress Fuller Alsop Williams Architects
ObjProdDateJun 2007
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3195.4 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleOptions 3 & 4 plans
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ObjProdOrganisationButtress Fuller Alsop Williams Architects
ObjProdDateJun 2007
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3195.5Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSchematic 3D drawing west Cloister
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionsuperimposed over photocopies of photos. B&W
ObjProdOrganisationButtress Fuller Alsop Williams Architects
ObjProdDateJun 2007
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3195.6Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSchematic 3D drawing east Cloister
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionsuperimposed over photocopies of photos. B&W
ObjProdOrganisationButtress Fuller Alsop Williams Architects
ObjProdDateJun 2007
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3195.7Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSchematic 3D drawing north Cloister
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionsuperimposed over photocopies of photos. B&W
ObjProdOrganisationButtress Fuller Alsop Williams Architects
ObjProdDateJun 2007
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3195.8Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSt Wilfrid’s Centre – Congregation and Public Consultation
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionsigned by [Canon] Graham B Usher. No illustrations
PhysicalDescriptionIntroductory panel explaining commissioning of Nick Rank, Abbey’s architect to produce scheme for public consultation
ObjProdOrganisationButtress Fuller Alsop Williams Architects
ObjProdDateJun 2007
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3199Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
Title☩Hexham Abbey☩| Seating Plan
ObjectNameplan | flat art
Materialtracing-paper
ContentDescriptionIndividually numbered seats on the pews in the Nave and on chairs in the North and South Transepts and the North Chancel Aisle, and between the columns of the arcades in the Nave and the North Transept; 30 numbered seats in the western part of the choir stalls, with the eastern part presumably reserved for choir. Entrance by ticket: yellow via West door, blue via North door, brown via Slype door, and green via ‘south choir door’ (later named “The Queen’s Door”). “1974” at bottom right, but no name.
PhysicalDescriptionPlan at scale 1/125 on tracing paper
ObjProdDate1974
ObjectHistoryNotePresumably, from the date, for the 1300th anniversary celebrations on Saturday 22nd June 1974, and/or the visit by HM Queen Elizabeth on Monday 1st July 1974.
Dimensions510 × 380
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3200Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey Church – Revised plan for the the New Vestry
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materiallinen
ContentDescriptionSigned at bottom left: “Approved. | George Bland, | Archdeacon of Northumberland. | July 15, 1869.”
West and North Elevations of new vestry. What was built in 1870 had an additional buttress added near the west end of the north side.
PhysicalDescriptionUnframed unmounted; ‘Scale eight feet to one inch’
ObjProdDate1869
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3202Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1427
TitleSketch for Canon Savage Window
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionThe seven tracery panels at the top are blank. The images in the three main panels are quite different from the window as installed [HEXAB1427] which has fewer figures and much less detail. “£150” at bottom-right, but nothing else.
PhysicalDescriptionDrawing in pencil on paper.
ObjProdPersonAlex Walker, Glasgow
ObjProdDatec1909
Dimensions248 × 416
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3203Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleChapter House Vestibule Sketch
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionView of Abbey from south-east, with new Nave, showing possible restoration of Chapter House Vestibule.
PhysicalDescriptionPen-and-ink drawing, no caption, signature, or date.
ObjProdDateearly 1900s?
Dimensions420 × 365
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3204 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
AssocObjNumberHEXAB203
TitlePulpitum Front Elevation & Plan
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionFront elevation & plan of the pulpitum [HEXAB203] now in the chancel. Caption: “THE OLD PULPIT | The paintings, which are very rude, appear to | represent Our Lord, the Virgin Mary, and the | twelve Apostles”. Scale of feet and inches. Note top-right in pale blue “Plate 47 | …”. Note on back (instructions to engraver or printer?): “Stalls 9¾ × 18 on original | reduced to 6½ wide | Pulpit 14 × 27 | to 6¼ × 12 | …”
PhysicalDescriptionPen-and-ink drawing, no signature or date.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre-1888
ObjectHistoryNoteOriginal drawing for use in central part of Plate 47 in Hodges’ 1888 Monograph.
Dimensions690 × 900
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3205 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleArcade Elevation on West Wall of North Transept
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionCaption: “Arcade on West Side of Transept”; several vertical measurements, in feet and inches, towards right. Note on back: “Run this in space in upper part of tracing [?] marked off by blue lines”.
PhysicalDescriptionPrint of drawing, no signature or date.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre-1888
ObjectHistoryNoteProof print [?] for use in top part of Plate 24 in Hodges’ 1888 Monograph.
Dimensions535 × 330
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3207Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleWindows from Eastern Chapel now destroyed
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionExterior elevation of window at the north side; exterior elevation & plan of centre & side windows east end + sections of tracery. Scale of feet. In blue ink at bottom: ‘reduce this to 19½ inches’.
Similar to bottom of Plate 37 in Hodges’ 1888 Monograph.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre 1888
ObjectHistoryNoteThe eastern chapels were finally swept away in the month of July, 1858, by the so-called “restorers” of the church. [Hexham and its Abbey, Hodges, 1889, p.38/39]
Dimensions1000 × 660
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: Fig.30 fn.11 p.44
1858 … remove the Lady Chapel at the East End. Faculty granted … but … the condition of the said church is far from satisfactory. Diocesan Faculty, 3 Jul. 1858. NRO ref.71 and NRO EP.184/80.

ObjectNumberHEXAB3208Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleElevation: North Transept Aisle
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionTitle: “Aisle of North Transept”; scale of feet at bottom. Hand-drawn hatched shading in some areas, rendered as very fine hatching in final printing. “Plate 23” handwritten top-right. Lacks the (erroneous) “ & 42” at bottom-right [should have been “ & 24”].
PhysicalDescriptionProof print of drawing, no signature or date.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre-1888
ObjectHistoryNoteProof print for use as Plate 23 in Hodges’ 1888 Monograph.
Dimensions995 × 655
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3209Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleTower – North Elevation
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionTitle: “North Elevation of the Tower”; scale of feet at bottom. Hand-drawn hatched shading in some areas, rendered as very fine hatching in final printing. “Plate 25” handwritten top-right. “NOTE. The mullions to belfry windows are all gone but are here restored | from existing fragments. | The parapet is most probably an addition of later date than the tower.”
PhysicalDescriptionProof print of drawing, no signature or date.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre-1888
ObjectHistoryNoteProof print for use as Plate 25 in Hodges’ 1888 Monograph.
Dimensions640 × 985
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3210Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleThe Crypt with details of Roman work
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionThree scales of feet & inches at bottom. Hand-drawn hatched shading in some areas, rendered as very fine hatching in final printing. “Plate 39” handwritten top-right. Compilation of eleven details.
PhysicalDescriptionProof print of drawing with seven detailed parts (on browning paper) stuck on.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges
ObjProdDatepre-1888
ObjectHistoryNoteProof print for use as Plate 39 in Hodges’ 1888 Monograph.
Dimensions680 × 1000
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3211Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleSaint Wilfrid’s Basilica Hexham
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialfilm
ContentDescriptionLongitudinal W–E section through centre of Crypt from west wall of Nave for 180 feet, just beyond the Normal apse. Scale of feet at bottom.
ObjProdPersonC C Hodges | David J Curry
ObjProdDate1966
ObjectHistoryNoteAt bottom-right: ‘Original signed: | “Charles C. Hodges. Traced June 1923.” | Redrawn from the original in 1966 | David J. Curry Architect’
Dimensions1040 × 297
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3215.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleCrypt Plan at Level of Lamp Niches
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionShows inscriptions on four gravestones and (reversed) on the Geta stone. Section and plan of lamp niche at top left; elevation and plan of image bracket. Red shading in passages. Scale metres and feet. Key A–H for eight features.
Signed “DRAWN: J W Lock.”
PhysicalDescriptionBase drawing for HEXAB3215.1; based on Hodges 1919 plan [HEXAB3216].
ObjProdPersonJ W Lock
ObjProdDate1970s?
ObjectHistoryNoteVery similar to plan stuck on p.83 in ‘Hexham and its Abbey’ (1919) by Hodges & Gibson; that plan has ‘Measured and drawn by | Charles C. Hodges | May 1919.’
J W Lock was a draughtsman in electronics and artist; died 1981 aged 52.
Dimensions630 × 460
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3218.5Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB5096.2
TitleHexham Abbey Excavations 1978
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescription1: Plan bounded by SW and NW Crossing piers and line of Nave S wall with key A–L. 2: Section “Under Crossing” with key 1A–17. Scale in metres. North to right. Signed at bottom-left: ‘Drawn by:— | J. W. Lock’
PhysicalDescriptionSingle sheet with two drawings. Printed copy similar to HEXAB3218.1 with added colour to denote Saxon Mortar (red) and Saxon Wall (blue).
ObjProdPersonJ W Lock
ObjProdDate1978
ObjectHistoryNotePlan similar to Fig.2, p.148 in Archæologia Æliana 5th series Vol. VII, 1979 [HEXAB5096.2], but inverted. Section similar to Fig.4, p.151, ibid.
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3222.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleProposed Song School & Vestries
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPlan to create vestries against the south chancel aisle and song school over the chapter house vestibule, 1949
[above] South elevation showing south transept and south chancel aisle with proposed vestry and sacristy
[below] Section C – D (from the east) through proposed museum with song school above.
PhysicalDescriptionno mount unframed (has been folded)
ObjProdOrganisationRiley & Glanfield, FRIBA
ObjProdDate1949
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: Fig.10 p.15, fn.9 p.16

ObjectNumberHEXAB3227 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleLady Chapel before & after restoration
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionHand Tinted illustrations of the Eastern Chapels, before & after a possible restoration, “from a design by R.W. Billings Esqr”.
Captions (caps): “The Lady Chapel as it Now Appears” and “The Lady Chapel Restored”.
PhysicalDescriptionFramed & glazed mounted in brown wood with gilt inside edge
ObjProdPersonR.W. Billings Esq. (designer)
ObjProdDatemid 19th cent?
DimensionsH 120 | W 90
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: fn.2 p.37, Fig.23 p.38

ObjectNumberHEXAB3228Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleProposed Song School & Shop. View from Beaumont Street
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionCopy of unexecuted design for shop (not visible) and Song School with multiple pointed windows to south, and, on SE corner a stair turret for direct access to the school from outside the Abbey.
Shows dwarf wall on inner side of pavement
PhysicalDescriptionno mount unframed (has been folded)
ObjProdOrganisationRiley & Glanfield, Chartered Architects, 6 Raymond Buildings Greys Inn WC1R 5DF
ObjProdDateMay 1978
DimensionsH 420 | W 300
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: fn.13 p.17, Fig.13 p.18

ObjectNumberHEXAB3229 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleCarte de Visite, J P Gibson, Group of Ladies and Children
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialcard
BriefDescriptionGroup of ladies and children (mostly girls) over two dozen in all standing and seated on south side of archway facing Prior’s Court, with a few inside the window of what is now the Refectory café.
In pencil on back: “Maggie Bell | 1868”.
Printed on back with monogram: “by | J. P. Gibson | Fore Street | Hexham | duplicates may be had”.
ObjProdDate1868
ObjectHistoryNote2014: Reproduced, much enlarged, in the album on the east side of the monastic workshop in “The Big Story” exhibition.
Dimensions99 × 61
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3230Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey [from East]
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionView from high on Moot Hall, i.e. from the east & elevated. Dwarf walls and some gardening still intact. Signed, bottom-right ‘David Brindley 1991’.
Bottom centre, below picture: ‘HEXHAM ABBEY | ©Published and produced by RJL Smith & Associates Much Wenlock Shropshire | from an original pen drawing by David Brindley’
PhysicalDescriptionPublished print of pen-&-ink drawing.
ObjProdPersonDavid Brindley
ObjProdOrganisationRJL Smith & Associates, Much Wenlock, Shropshire
ObjProdDate1991
ObjectProductionPeriodPost 1984 song school
Dimensions240 × 175
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3231.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMarket Place – Proposed Paving Pattern B
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPlan at 1:100 for Market Place Hexham Floorscape Redevelopment Phase 3. Key for Heritage Planters, Floodlights, and Ripon Seats.
PhysicalDescriptionOne of seven rolled drawings relating to Hexham Market Place
ObjProdPersonJD
ObjProdOrganisationTynedale Council, Ian W Darling C.Eng MICE, Director of Housing & Environmental Services
ObjProdDateDec 1990
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3232Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleThe Transepts, Hexham Abbey
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionAbbey S Transept interior from N Transept
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, unframed, pen & ink drawing (or print of)
ObjProdPersonJohnson Forster
ObjProdDateJan 1940
Dimensionsmount 285 × 357 | visible 135 × 210
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3233 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleChoir on Night Stair [March 1987]
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionAs well as choir: Rector Revd Michael Middleton, Curate Revd Ross Kennedy, Hon.Curate Revd Nicholas Milton Verger James Armstrong, Organist Henry Wallace, Director of Music John Green. Coptic cross at front.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed, glazed colour photograph; descriptive label on back.
ObjProdDateMarch 1987
Dimensions220 × 270
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3234 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleSt Mary’s in Lowgate, near Hexham, Northumberland
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionView from east along north wall of St Mary’s Lowgate exterior of porch at dusk with the Curate Revd Glenn Milne, and choirboys John Blance (11) and Ben Blance (10), and another adult. External ‘bulkhead’ lights are on; double-decker bus on road.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted, framed, glazed colour photograph; descriptive label on back.
ObjProdOrganisationDesigned and Produced by EQUUS (091) 230 0742
ObjProdDate1990
ObjectHistoryNotefor 1991 calendar of Northumbria buses
Dimensions272 × 322
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph of drawing ‘704.—Priory Church, Hexham. (East end.)’
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionHexham Market Place with stalls and buildings against east end of Abbey with its pre-1828 east-window transom.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph (enlarged from cracked glass-plate negative) of a drawing. Covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.2
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 349 × 262 | board 398 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph of painting of East side of Market Place
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionHexham Market Place with pant, horse and cart, and buildings against east end of Abbey with its pre-1828 east-window transom and post-1821 clock.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph (enlarged from cracked glass-plate negative) of a painting. Covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.1
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 260 × 334 | board 305 × 398
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph of Hexham Abbey with Eastern Chapels
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionEastern Chapels, shored up by timbers, for-sale notice falling off fence.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.4
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatec1858
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 298 × 251 | board 399 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.4Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph of West side of Market Place
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionShops crowded against Moot Hall on west side of Market Place, Allgood Pant front and centre (removed 1865), shambles at right. Diamond-shaped clock face on Moot Hall.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.3
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatepre-1865
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 329 × 269 | board 399 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.5Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph ‘Fore St.’
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionFore Street from the south; White Hart Hotel on right
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph (enlarged from cracked glass-plate negative) covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.6
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 296 × 249 | board 398 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.6Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph ‘Hexham Old House’
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionOld houses in Market Street demolished in 1885 to make way for Henry Bell’s wool warehouse, later the former swimming pool.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.5
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatepre-1885
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 293 × 235 | board 398 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.7Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph “St Mary’s”
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionRemains of St Mary’s Church with rubble from demolition.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.8
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 252 × 324 | board 305 × 398
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.8Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph ‘Battle Hill’
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionBattle Hill looking west from Priestpopple
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.7
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 323 × 250 | board 398 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.9Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph of Priestpopple
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPriestpopple looking east from the end of Fore Street.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.10
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 279 × 228 | board 398 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.10Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph of St Mary’s Chare
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionNorth-west corner of St Mary’s Chare; Grapes Inn on left
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.9
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 329 × 266 | board 398 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.11Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph of Police Station in Carnaby Building
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionWest yard of Hexham Abbey with Carnaby Building on right occupied by police until 1958; gate leading to cloister garth closed; stairs up to first floor later demolished; lamp hanging on corner.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.12
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatepre-1907
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 278 × 335 | board 305 × 398
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.12Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph ‘Battle Hill Tce. [REVERSED!]’
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionReversed view fo Battle Hll Terrace
PhysicalDescriptionMisprinted (reversed) photograph covered with plastic film on thin board and taped back-to-back with HEXAB3236.11
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 342 × 270 | board 398 × 305
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3236.13Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleMounted photograph ‘Battle Hill’
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionSouth side of Battle Hill looking south-east from the end of Beaumont Street; the 1863 United Presbyterian Church was demolished in 1954.
PhysicalDescriptionPhotograph covered with plastic film on thin board.
ObjProdPersonJ P Gibson
ObjProdDatelate 19th cent
ObjectHistoryNoteLong used for town tours.
Dimensionsimage 248 × 196 | board 381 × 304
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3240.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB253
TitleArms of Mercers’ Company
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionArms of the Mercers’ Company, full size — for engraving & fixing on left-hand-side [viewed from east, i.e. the south-side] glass panel of Slype Doors Screen. ‘HONOR DEO’ on scroll below shield and no mention of Mercers (unlike final panel).
PhysicalDescriptionSeveral features different from HEXAB3240.2 and different again from finished product [HEXAB253]
ObjProdPersonA Moody B.Arch. FRIBA, Architect to the Abbey
ObjProdOrganisationDouglas Wise & Partners, Architects
ObjProdDateJune 1993
DimensionsA3
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3240.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB253
TitleArms of Mercers’ Company
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescription‘Blue-cased panel for Hexham Abbey | revised version with crest facing forward’. Text below shield: ‘HONOR·DEO’ above ‘The Worshipful Company | of Mercers’ (different line-break from final panel)
PhysicalDescriptionBlack-and-white print. Several features different from HEXAB3240.1 and different again from finished product [HEXAB253] + five copies of varying quality
ObjProdPersonP J Furlonger
ObjProdDate1995
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3245.3Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleA Church Community Centre, Hexham Priory, Northumberland
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionScale: 8 feet to 1 inch – J. R. Glanfield Drawing 7 – Final Thesis Design
[above] West elevation
[below] East elevation Parish Hall
PhysicalDescriptionno mount unframed
ObjProdPersonJ. R. Glanfield
ObjProdDateJune 1949
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: Fig.11 fn.10 p.15

ObjectNumberHEXAB3247.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleHexham Abbey Proposed Church Hall 1964
ObjectNamedrawing | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionDrawing No. A/25/77 – Artist’s impression from NE
PhysicalDescriptionno mount unframed (has been folded)
ObjProdOrganisationRiley and Glanfield, Architects
ObjProdDateDecember 1964
CurrentLocationIn storage
ReferenceHAR: Fig.12 fn.11 p.17

ObjectNumberHEXAB3248.1Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1431.4
TitleLarge Colour Photograph ‘St Etheldreda’
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialcard
ContentDescriptionSt Etheldreda as depicted in the Abbey West Window [HEXAB1431.4] made by H T Bosdet in 1917, dedicated 1918 as the Charles Henderson memorial window. Etheldreda holds Hexham Church model (as in 1870–1907) in right hand and crook with St Andrew saltire in left hand.
PhysicalDescriptionImage printed on to thick white photo board. High quality print with excellent detail – deserves careful handling and storage.
ObjProdPersonChris Britton
ObjProdDate2016
ObjectHistoryNoteProduced for and used during Heritage Open Days, Sept 2016.
Dimensions234 × 600
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3248.2Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB1431.3
TitleLarge Colour Photograph ‘S. Wilfred’ [sic]
ObjectNamephotograph | flat art
Materialcard
ContentDescriptionSt Wilfrid as depicted in the Abbey West Window [HEXAB1431.3] made by H T Bosdet in 1917, dedicated 1918 as the Charles Henderson memorial window. Wilfrid has processional cross in crook of right arm, a scroll in right hand, a jewel on back of right hand, and points with his left hand. Near his right foot is same model of Abbey as in Etheldreda’s right hand.
PhysicalDescriptionImage printed on to thick white photo board. High quality print with excellent detail – deserves careful handling and storage.
ObjProdPersonChris Britton
ObjProdDate2016
ObjectHistoryNoteProduced for and used during Heritage Open Days, Sept 2016.
Dimensions234 × 600
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3259 Click on
Thumbnail
for
3 photos
TitleHexham Abbey [from Cowgarth]
ObjectNamepainting | flat art
Materialoil-on-board
LabelText“HEXHAM ABBEY”
AN ORIGINAL PAINTING BY DALLAS K. TAYLOR
This original work has been specially commissioned by Robbs at Tynedale Park and has been presented to the Abbey.
The painting will now be sold from Hexham Abbey to the highest bidder with all proceeds to be used towards Abbey Restoration.
Anyone who is interested in purchasing the picture should contact the Parish Office at Hexham Abbey on (0434) 602 031.
ContentDescriptionView of the Abbey from Cowgarth, i.e. WNW, signed by the artist bottom-right. Labels on back: “‘HEXHAM ABBEY’ | Dallas. K. Taylor. October. 1991.” and one about its commissioning; ‘Purchased 1992’.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted and framed oil painting on board
ObjProdPersonDallas K Taylor
ObjProdDate1991
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3260 Click on
Thumbnail
for
2 photos
TitleHexham Abbey Cloister Gateway
ObjectNamepainting | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionView from east of gateway with cloister garth and priory building beyond.
PhysicalDescriptionMounted in green frame; label on back. Colour reproduction from an original painting by Jill Brookman
ObjProdPersonJill Brookman
ObjProdDatend
Dimensions290 × 340
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3263Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
AssocObjNumberHEXAB148
TitleFramed and glazed certificate of ‘Médaille du Jubilé’
ObjectNamecertificate | ephemera
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionPresented to William Anderson, Lundi 6 juin 1994, by René Garrec, Président du Conseil Régional de Basse-Normandie
PhysicalDescriptionSimple chrome-plated frame with black velvet back with hinged support.
ObjProdDate1994
ObjectHistoryNoteWilliam Anderson made the ‘Book of Remembrance’ display stand [HEXAB148].
Dimensionsframe 389 × 293 | visible picture 233 × 157
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3264 Click on
Thumbnail
for
4 photos
TitleFramed ‘Light of the World’ after Holman Hunt
ObjectNameprint | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionColour reproduction of W Holman Hunt’s “The Light of the World” (caption below picture), one of the most reproduced images of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood — here a fragment of the later Oxford Movement. “Mowbrays 6 B” at bottom left.
Art-Nouveau label verso: “St Gabriel’s KMs[?] | Presented to | Edward Fairley, | for an essay | on a lecture on | Canada. | April 1911 | Charles [indistinct]”.
PhysicalDescriptionPrinted & framed (simple mould, now unglazed) by ‘A R Mowbray & Co Ltd, | Ecclesiastical Art Warehouse, | 9 High Street, Oxford.’ [label verso bottom]
ObjProdPersonOriginal artist W Holman Hunt the celebrated member of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood
ObjProdOrganisationA R Mowbray & Co Ltd, Ecclesiastical Art Warehouse, 9 High Street, Oxford
ObjProdDatec1911
Dimensions180 × 240
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3265Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleFramed drawing of ‘Saxon Chalice Hexham Abbey’
ObjectNamepainting | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionShows the chalice within the recess in S Chancel Aisle though recess has neither sides nor top rendered. Very expressive shine on the vessel.
Nothing verso. Titled and signed “K. M. Sisterson” on mount. Signed and dated “Sisterson” lower RH corner of picture [date obscured by mount].
PhysicalDescriptionPlain wooden frame; drawing in mount, watercolour & gouache?
ObjProdPersonKathleen M Sisterson
ObjProdDate1979?
Dimensionsframe 389 × 293 | visible picture 233 × 157
CurrentLocationIn storage

ObjectNumberHEXAB3266Hover on
Thumbnail
to
enlarge
TitleThree drawings of Interior of Hexham Abbey
ObjectNamepainting | flat art
Materialpaper
ContentDescriptionThree characterful views emphasizing yellowness of stone and reds of windows, banners, carpets. [left] N Transept NW corner; [middle] Chancel from Choir; [right] Crossing & N Transept from top of Night Stair; each signed & dated “Sisterson 72”. Proportions are splendidly inaccurate in places but the character of the Abbey remains.
Verso labels: [centre] “Stocksfield Studio | Branch End, Stocksfield, Northumberland | … NE43 7NA | …” (pre-printed) with typescript: “Hexham Abbey Interior | Artist | Kathleen M Sisterson | Item No.71   Provenance Artist”.
[top-left] (left, bottom, and right edges torn off) “[?]T.D. | Kathleen M. Sister[son] | 2, Westfield Ter[race] | Hexham | Name   Medium   Pr[ovenance] | [Hexham] Abbey   Wax+In[k?]   [?]”
[between above two labels] “Hexham Abbey | Kathleen M Sisterson | Item No.71   £30”
PhysicalDescriptionPlain wooden frame; 3 drawings in mount; wax & ink(?). Medium difficult to assess but included wax crayon which, if mixed with watercolour, would account for the spotty finish.
ObjProdPersonKathleen M Sisterson
ObjProdDate1972
Dimensionsframe 666 × 355 | each picture 174 × 247
CurrentLocationIn storage